53 Pages V  « < 42 43 44 45 46 > »   
Reply to this topicStart new topic

> December Mums chat, introductions :-)

V
Aly_1982
post 01/05/2012, 09:59 AM
Post #431
Hey everyone original.gif

Finally have some time to post. Like Kate, life seems to have been quite busy recently and I just have the one child!!

I have still been reading and keeping up with everyone's news but forgive me for lack of personals with this post, I have to leave for an appointment shortly but I just really wanted to say hi!!

We went up to Brissie for a couple of weeks to see family and friends. We did the 13 hour drive with Zach there and back. He was really great. There were just a couple of times where he lost the plot - once towards the end of the journey up there and once towards the end of the journey coming back to Sydney. I think he had just had enough - which was fair enough as both DP and I were over it too by the 11/12 hour mark!

Anyway we had a really lovely time and Zach got so much attention. It was nice to have some extra helping hands as well and of course nice to have DP around during the day too original.gif

Next challenge will be Zach's first plane trip in a few weeks when we go to Melbourne for the weekend. I think DP is quite nervous about how Zach is going to go!

We have attempted to start solids but it's been a bit of a slow start. He seems to really love banana, hated the pureed apple I gave him, is not so fussed about rice cereal, seems to think pear is ok. Last night we tried some sweet potato. I was a bit worried about the consistency but ended up putting too much water in it in the end and it was like soup. Anyway I'm not too worried about the whole solids thing. He's just 5 months tomorrow so I'm happy to take it slowly.

Have been a bit worried that he's not rolling over yet......should I be? He is trying but he isn't quite there yet. I'm sure he will get there soon original.gif

He does however have his two front bottom teeth! It was a bit of a surprise finding out. He pulled my finger into his mouth and started chomping and then I felt something sharp...looked into his mouth and saw the teeth. I think now that we know he's teething, we can see that he is suffering a bit with his gums. All of the teething rusks say 6 plus months on them so I have been a little bit reluctant to give him rusks so have just been giving him teething rings to chew on. I'm not sure how effective they are though. I think rusks would be better, I remember how much they helped my younger brother when he was teething and how much he loved them.

We have also tried some bonjella teething gel but he hates it!

Anyway have to leave for my appointment now. Hope everyone is doing well and I'll try be back soon for some personals original.gif

Hope everyone has a great day x
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
katevin
post 01/05/2012, 05:14 PM
Post #432
Advanced Member
Hello everyone! Been another busy week but I finally have time to post now original.gif

Aly it's nice to know I'm not the only one who feels crazy busy all the time! Wow, 2 teeth already- I think he's the first in the group isn't he?! DD1 had teeth by this age but still none for Maya...yet! Have a feeling they can't be too far away but who knows really.
Great to hear you had a good trip and the little man behaved for most of the trip there/home. That's a great effort! Maya is heaps better in the car now than she was thankfully but she used to get hysterical after about 5 minutes in her carseat! wacko.gif Glad she's outgrown that!
Nah I wouldn't worry at all about the whole rolling thing. They do it when they're ready. Enjoy him staying in one spot while it lasts wink.gif Maya has really only started rolling purposefully (I'm pretty sure it was her head weighing her down before that!) over the last week. And she has never rolled from back to front.
Oh and can you believe our babies are 5 months tomorrow?!?? ohmy.gif

Leita yep Maya is looking a lot like her big sister these days! Its funny comparing baby photos and seeing how similar they are. DD1 was a lot chunkier though- she looks like a mini Sumo wrestler or something laughing2.gif
Gee DH's shifts sound pretty horrible, no wonder you're not too impressed with his new roster! Hope the reality of it isn't as bad as what you're fearing it will be like (if that makes sense!?)!
Good to hear that Lucas is giving you some better stretches of sleep at night original.gif

Ehill welcome to you and Timothy! Wow moving from Adelaide to Perth is a huge change, no wonder you're feeling it! Are you going to join a playgroup or anything while you're there? Might help with the feelings of isolation original.gif How's DD coping with the move?

Bec how are you feeling now?? The antibiotics sort out your tummy issues? Hope you're feeling a bit more human now.
Oh Maya is obsessed with her hands at the moment too! DH and I joke that she looks like she's doing martial arts the way she slowly moves them infront of her face and turns them around and stuff laugh.gif She also discovered her feet the other day- so cute watching her watch her little toes wriggling!

AFU poor DD1 is recovering from a tummy bug sad.gif Poor little thing was miserable for about 24 hours but seems to be almost over it already so thankfully it was just a quick one. Maya, DH and I remain unnscathed at the moment- hope it stays that way! I think I'd freak out if Maya caught a gastro bug!
Not much else happening (apart from the busy everyday life with 2 little ones!). Maya's personality is developing more and more every day and we are loving it. Her cheeky smiles melt our hearts and her fake coughing (her current favourite pasttime) is hilarious!

Anyway speaking of my darling daughter, she's carrying on in her cot so had better go and give her a hand rolleyes.gif Lucky they're so cute hey!?

P.S.- Please excuse any typo's- I picked up an iPhone/iPad compatible keyboard at Aldi the other day and am still getting used to it. It's tiny!!

This post has been edited by katevin: 01/05/2012, 05:19 PM

+Quote Post
leita
post 01/05/2012, 05:28 PM
Post #433
Leita
Just popping in to say- Aly- I've started giving lukey rusks this week (he's 5 months) and he looooves them. Gets so excited when he sees one coming! I did try him on pasta first to make sure he was OK with wheat (he sounds very much like your zach, loves banana and pear, hates apple and pumpkin, he also loves pasta!) The recommendation used to be that you not start solids until 6 months, and I think the rusk manufacturers haven't changed their packaging to match the new guidelines so still say from 6 months. ;-)

+Quote Post
Ehill
post 01/05/2012, 05:44 PM
Post #434
Advanced Member
Thanks for your welcomes everyone. Gosh it is hard to remembef once you start typing who has what baby and who has sid what etc. Be good for my mushy brain.

Leita, i feel your pain with doing witching hour on your own. My DH is working insane hours currently and gets home just before the kids go to bed but misses bath, tea, hunger etc etc. I am finding it hard to insist on my DD eating tea when I am on the couch feeding and she just gets up and plays with toys etc.

Katevin, DD has been fine but this last week has been atrocious. I cant enjoy my beautiful Tim as all my energy is spent on her. I dont think it is anything as complex as in security, it is just boredom. Not enough playdates, no kindy etc etc. Tomorrow she starts halfday at a kindy, next week we have a few more playdates so getting there slowly.

Aly, Zach will be fine on the plane. Tim has done 3 flights to/from Perth. Absolutely fine. He is in baby heaven as he gets held by his mummy for hrs on end. I just sit by the window so i can feed as discretely as
possible.

Bec, tried pear yesterday. Sooooo not into it and it made it hard for him to poo this morning so i am not going to worry for a bit. He is happy.

I love hearing what your babies are doing. Tim rolled about 3 or 4 times back to front about 2 weeks ago and now wont do it again! I think he has gotten too fat. Funniest thing is i never saw him do it. I would be busy, hear this muffled cry and look over to his playmat and he would be face down stuck. Too funny, like the Little Britain wheelchair guy! biggrin.gif

+Quote Post
Javva
post 06/05/2012, 04:24 PM
Post #435
Hi I am just new here so I thought I would introduce myselfMy DS was born 4 weeks early on the 23/12/11 he had to be delivered by c section I was very very sick during the pregnancy not sure if it was due to all thd ivf drugs but he was not doing so well do my obs said we had to get him out he spent 10 days in a isolette with feeding and breathing tubes so quiet stressful we bought him home after 3 weeks in hospital. He is doing great now and is almost sleeping through the night! We also have a DS who is 4 and a half who adores his little brother it's challenging having the two and just trying to find the balance!!
Javva x

+Quote Post
katevin
post 06/05/2012, 05:35 PM
Post #436
Advanced Member
Ehill it's hard work when the older child is playing up isn't it! They're meant to be the easy ones! wink.gif Hope she gets to release some of her energy at kinder and with the play dates you have organised. Did she settle into kinder okay?
Too funny, like the Little Britain wheelchair guy!

laughing2.gif

Javva welcome and congrats on the birth of your DS! What's his name? Sounds like you've been through a really tough time, glad that you've come out the other side now. And that's great that he's almost sleeping through... I'm jealous tongue.gif Yes it's certainly a balancing act with 2 kids isn't it?!

AFU we're just home from a 1st birthday party so all tired and full up with party food! Maya was a good girl, sleeping in the pram (after much pram rocking mind you).
She's moved on from her fascination with fake coughing now and is onto little airy blurt type things. Couldn't quite call them a blurt but she's trying tongue.gif Still extremely amazed by her hands!

Thought I'd share a few recent pics of my smiling girl wub.gif

http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb219/k...eandMaya728.jpg

http://i211.photobucket.com/albums/bb219/k...eandMaya769.jpg

Hope everyone is well original.gif

Edited because my pics were ginormous no matter how many times I re-sized them! rolleyes.gif Posted links to pics instead... hope they work!

This post has been edited by katevin: 06/05/2012, 05:45 PM

+Quote Post
Bec_M
post 06/05/2012, 07:24 PM
Post #437
Kate - gorgeous pics original.gif Your girls are adorable. Glad you enjoyed the party. I love party food! original.gif

Hi Javva. Welcome to the group! Sounds like you have had a rough start but glad to hear things are good now. Definitely hard juggling two kids!

Ehill - we tried a little rice cereal, didn't seem too fussed on it but like sucking on a piece of watermelon the other day original.gif Not really worried about food just yet really. Plenty of time for that!

Anyway - we had Declan christened today and it was a lovely day. Knackered now though! We also found his first tooth this morning! Would explain why he cried for 2hrs on Wednesday the poor little man. I thought it was his cold bothering him. A bit earlier than DD who got her first at 8mths. First tooth at 5 months. Hope he doesn't like to chew on my nipple lol!

Hope everyone has had a nice weekend!
x

+Quote Post
leita
post 08/05/2012, 09:12 PM
Post #438
Leita
Woot woot!! Back in my pre-preg jeans today for the first time eexcite.gif Pretty chuffed about that cos it was about 12 months after DD. Still not looking at the nasty muffin top I've got happening above the jeans, they're on and they do up, so it counts!! tthumbs.gif

Bec- Aww, congrats on the christening, I bet is was a special day. How is declan liking his new tooth, is he chomping on you yet??

Kate- that is one gorgeous smiley girl you have on your hands there.. actually two gorgeous smiley girls llove.gif must just melt your heart to watch them together. He he, lukey is fascinated by hands, but this week has discovered he can reach his toes, he loves to grab hold of them, and absolutely cracks up if he can get one in his mouth- I think it must tickle! And yes, you're right, so far the reality of those nasty shifts DH has isn't as bad as the anticipation.... touch wood! And DD just loves having her Papa home more often (well, it's more often for her cos she doesn't notice when he's working nights!)

Javva- Hiya! welcome to our chat! Congratulations on your new little man- sounds like he had a dramatic entrance, hope everything has settled down now. Has your health improved since the birth? It is tough trying to find a balance isn't it? The actual baby part is so easy this time around but the sheer logistics of getting two little lives coordinated are daunting, but I have to say starting to get easier.... touch wood.

Time for some questions to get some chat happening I think!

What is the cutest thing your little one does (you know that one thing that just melts your heart even at 3am!) Lukey laughs in his sleep. A real belly chuckle. He first did it when he was just 2 or 3 days old, and still does it from time to time, can't help but giggle myself. wub.gif

What has surprised you about your baby? That he is so easy going. Think this one takes after his Daddy.

What do you think your little one will be when he/she grows up??
A politician. He's a real charmer, always grinning and making eyes at strangers (particularly ladies) and is always talking, loves the sound of his own voice!

Hope everyone is having a lovely day! grin.gif

+Quote Post
Ehill
post 08/05/2012, 10:39 PM
Post #439
Advanced Member
Omg so many cute things.....i go in at night when he is asleep and he does this long sigh, or when he first wakes up in the pram and i look down and i give him a big smile and he looks me with his wide open eyes and gives me this huge smile like 'wow, my mummy is here', he just looks so happy that I am still there. happy.gif

Surprised me ......i just think that i am so utterley besotted with him. I was besotted with DD too and you love them equally but he is a different person.

Grown up....hmmmmm no idea probably a numbers man like his dad.

Leita, congrats on the jeans. I actually joined a gym last week with child minding. Sooooo big bonus, i am going to pull myself into shape and get an hour alone time once or twice a week. I do joke that i will just be strolling on the treadmill with a book most of the time. I dont even like the gym! But a creche......yah yah yah.

We had a great day, had a play at a new friend of DD's house. I chatted to the mum who was lovely (keeping in mind i dont really know anyone
In Perth). Came home, tim slept for 2 hours, had a rest and then off to the playground for a quick play. Everyone in bed by 730, me to follow soon.

+Quote Post
Bec_M
post 12/05/2012, 04:31 PM
Post #440
Leita - no chomping on me yet! But he is loving playing with his new tooth. I think the one next to it is on the way as well. Congrats on being back in your pre-pregnancy jeans! What an awesome feeling biggrin.gif

Cute things: I love the excited little squeal Declan does. So cute! Makes me smile every time. And the way he snuggles in when I pick him up in the middle of the night for a feed. This little dude melts me every time.

What has surprised me: I think the same as Leita - that he is so placid and easy going! Thank goodness. Don't know how I would have managed another full on baby. And that he has slept right from the start!

Not sure what he will be when he grows up but as long as he is happy I don't care biggrin.gif

Things are ok with us. Things are much the same. DD is being a bit challenging at the moment, doesn't help she just covered me in lemonade! The joys of kids. I needed a shower anyway Tounge1.gif

Anyway got any special plans for tomorrow? DH is working so I'm off to hang out with my mum. Thought he might do something today as he is off but nah, he doesn't think of these things! Happy Mummy's Day to everyone original.gif
x

+Quote Post

53 Pages V  « < 42 43 44 45 46 > » 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

The accidental attachment parent

"Attachment parenting has set me up for ... well, I'm not going to say failure, but for a very difficult time," says one mum.

Baby love is worth the expense

Amidst all the arguing over which paid parental leave scheme is best for parents, is anyone talking about what's best for babies?

Immunisation, fever and pain relief

Find out the benefits and risks involved with protecting your child from harmful diseases.

Free: 'The First Year' ebook

Check out our new interactive ebook, part of the brand new SMH Shortbooks series, for free!

One mum's 'biggest mistake' offers lesson for all

A mother sparked conversations around the world when she declared, in a national newspaper, that she wished she'd never had her two children. But her story can teach us a valuable lesson on parenthood.

Ask an expert: My child is suddenly resisting toilet training

My child is resisting the toilet training process. We got off to a good start, but now she?s refusing to use the toilet. What can we do now?

Johnson's Baby 'how to' videos

We've learned a lot since we launched our first JOHNSON'S� baby powder way back in 1894, so we've put together this collection of 'how to' videos to get you started on your exciting journey.

New dads are sexy and they know it

While most women wouldn?t associate being a new parent with feeling more attractive, it seems men see it differently: they think they?re better looking than before they were dads.

Competitions

Win a Little Rascals nappy service

Lighten the load when you win a Little Rascals Nappy Service!

Win a Grandparents Survival Pack

You could win a copy of Parental Guidance on Blu-ray and DVD and tickets to Madame Tussauds Sydney.

Win a Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD Prize Pack!

You could win one of 20 Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD prize packs.

Win Logitech gadgets for your home

Win the UE Boombox to listen to music wherever you go, or a TV Cam HD to Skype loved ones right from your TV!

Win a Mamas & Papas Baby Bud

You could win a gorgeous innovative Mamas & Papas Baby Bud!

Preschool activities

Free downloadable printables

Colouring sheets, educational activities and more.

Featured Promotions

RSS Lo-Fi Version
Skin by IPB Customize
Time is now: 24/05/2013

Essential Baby and Essential Kids is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, kids entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums or the Essential Kids forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. Essential Kids features a range of free printable worksheets for kids from preschool years through to primary school years. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby and Essential Kids.