( Log In | Register )

12 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > »   
Closed TopicStart new topic

> TTC#1 Grads - Ongoing thread

V
Maverick&Goose
post 17/10/2011, 06:50 PM
Post #11
Purp - i didnt have a choice. My mum ignored my request to stay away - but i am kind of looking forward to being around my type of people.

Ards - the o.ly issue is my step dad being here for the early stages of labour. Hopefully he has a thick skin to absorb the insults that may fly his way. Btw - i love christmas too 6 weeks and 3 days until the tree can go up.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Happy_daisy
post 17/10/2011, 07:16 PM
Post #12
I'm so looking forward to Christmas this year...was a bit of a blur last year with a 4 week old original.gif Looking forward to watching DD's face this year as she opens her presents!!

Mav: I'm highly recommend going to the movies...gold class or something you wont be able to see/do when bubs is here original.gif I did less than a week before giving birth, it was great! Sitting in a comfy chair, being served food and watching a movie with a friend...bliss! I even took a towel to sit on in case my waters broke laughing2.gif

Hi everyone else!! waves.gif hope you're all doing well! Belly rubs to all original.gif

efs

This post has been edited by Happy_daisy: 17/10/2011, 08:21 PM

+Quote Post
ema78
post 17/10/2011, 07:38 PM
Post #13
Gold class sounds like an awesome idea! Will have to keep that one up my sleeve too! DH is already giving me grief about what I"m going to do in December when I finish work.

Ards did I see you write in the previous thread you are up to 18 weeks today?? I can't believe you are almost halfway already! Not long to go until your big US!!!!!!!!

Purple it was kinda funny to think there was another EB person at the BF class on the weekend and I didn't even realise. Adelaide is pretty small so I think the ABA only run classes in one place, it would have been nice to go to one closer to home for me.

Welcome waves.gif to all the other new people in the group - I'm loving hearing all your excitement about getting to twelve weeks!

AFM plodding along ever so slowly at 28 weeks. Not much happening baby wise. Actually the past couple of weeks have been a hard slog, I am so tired all the time and struggling as I seem to not be able to get as much done as I used to (this frustrates the bejeepers out of me). Have had a couple of big cries too. DH is starting to get worried that there is something wrong, I'm not sure if its just the hormones or if there is something more to it. So today I've decided to start taking more pressure off myself. I've only got another 6 and 1/2 weeks of work left, and have put in a heap of flexi time lately so that I can try and only work 4 or 4 and 1/2 days in a week, see if that helps. I'm also trying to get DH to help more with the cooking (some success) and cleaning (not as much success yet) around the house, so I am less stressed about doing things when I get home from work. Hopefull it will help and I can get my stuff back together. Today was a better day, and I am feeling a lot more relaxed about things, hopefully thats the way things will stay. hands.gif

+Quote Post
*Minnie*
post 18/10/2011, 07:47 AM
Post #14
ugh Christmas. I'm not sure how i feel about it this year. Most years I feel its very overrated and always thought it'll be great when we have kids who are old enough to enjoy it.
This year we'll have a tiny baby which I am very excited about but I'm worried about having to travel to my parents and stay there at least one night when all the baby stuff will still be brand new. My parents and grandparents live in two houses on the same block so its a full on time visiting them. No doubt they'll have people pop over to see our baby (the whole country town knows i'm pregnant!).
Hopefully it'll just be for one night so we'll survive but I can see it being a stressful time. They only live 2.5hours away too so its not a ridiculous drive.
Speaking of which, I'm meant to go stay the night at my parents place when i'm 37wks and 3days.... Is it too far to travel do you think? I'm leaning towards telling mum I cant go just in case i go into labour and she has to drive me back, in a hurry!

enough about me though! I hope all is well with everyone

Mav - not long now hunni. Thinking of you!

+Quote Post
Ards
post 18/10/2011, 10:58 AM
Post #15
Ards
waves.gif hi all. sorry about the christmas outburst, I realise some people don't celebrate christmas or get into it like others, didnt mean to bring it up....sorry just got excited as its a big thing for our family xmas_cool.gif

QUOTE (PurpleNess @ 17/10/2011, 03:15 PM) *
Ards we are boycotting christmas this year....sorry to disappoint you lol - 8 weeks till my due date, I think that's a good enough reason!

Purple - totally understandable!!! I find anything close to my due date is not even on the radar - my birthday, a few friends birthdays and easter is kinda close to my March EDD and I dont care about any of them (not in a bad way, just over excited about my baby wink.gif - you get what I mean). Just think this will be your first christmas as a family of 3 wub.gif

QUOTE (Maverick&Goose @ 17/10/2011, 04:50 PM) *
Ards - the o.ly issue is my step dad being here for the early stages of labour. Hopefully he has a thick skin to absorb the insults that may fly his way. Btw - i love christmas too 6 weeks and 3 days until the tree can go up.

Mav - I get ya! to be honest I reckon if certain ppl are there and you cant handle it or find labour is too full on, tell them to leave, you need space to get thought it...your hubby should be able to read your 'mood' signs so ask him to help you out there. Your parents should understand, its a huge thing for you to go through.

YES I love putting our tree up and buying gifts/wrapping them...this year I'm making santa sacks for Mr A, me and the little one - cant wait!

AFM - plod plod

+Quote Post
Lupes
post 18/10/2011, 01:45 PM
Post #16
Heyo everyone!

Christmas! I usually love christmas, but this year, I can look at it two ways.. The scariest christmas ever, cause we'll have a little one and just be finding our feet, or it'll be the best christmas present ever, with the little one just arrived. I'm gonna try and lean towards the more positive side. And I'll just have to be extra organised to make sure I don't have anything to worry about except csring for the little bundle. We normally put the tree up end of November, I've got the cards sorted, making a start on the pressies I need to buy, and thankfully christmas lunch/dinner is at my mum's house. So we'll only have to turn up to eat! ( and mum's place is only 15 minutes away ) it will likely be our first trip as a family out of the house, too. Just hoping little man comes on time-ish, if we go 10 days over, like they say most first timers do, 3 days before christmas will be a bit more of a worry.

Good luck Mav, hope she's not a stubborn lass and pops out sooner rather than later!

AFM - travelling along fine, feeling huge like, and so glad I finish up work in 2 weeks, even though I've already cut back my hours to 2 days a week, 10 hrs on my feet all day on those two days I'm starting to feel it, getting tired and cranky by the time I finish, poor DP, having to put up with it, too, lucky he loves me!

Big hello's to Purple, Ema, GGM, Ards, Minnie, CBear, P Sound, C Lever, Ash, Scout, Nets, Hazely, and everyone else!

Hope all our most recent new mummy's are doing well with their bubs, too.

+Quote Post
*Minnie*
post 18/10/2011, 04:40 PM
Post #17
Ards you dont have to apologise for getting excited about Christmas! I think it's great you're so excited about it original.gif

Afm- have been looking in the shops for clothes I can wear post baby and easily/discreetly breast feed in when out and about. I went to Kmart only to discover they no longer sell maternity/nursing wear!! How ridiculous. Target didn't have much and big W only really have the bonds feeding singlets and maternity wear not nursing too. Grr! Ive been looking online for nursing tops and they are either ugly or way expensive. I won't be out and about feeding heaps so I should be fine with a couple of tops with buttons but it's still annoying.
Ah well.

+Quote Post
Happy_daisy
post 18/10/2011, 05:16 PM
Post #18
QUOTE (*Minnie* @ 18/10/2011, 04:10 PM) *
Afm- have been looking in the shops for clothes I can wear post baby and easily/discreetly breast feed in when out and about. I went to Kmart only to discover they no longer sell maternity/nursing wear!! How ridiculous. Target didn't have much and big W only really have the bonds feeding singlets and maternity wear not nursing too. Grr! Ive been looking online for nursing tops and they are either ugly or way expensive. I won't be out and about feeding heaps so I should be fine with a couple of tops with buttons but it's still annoying.
Ah well.

Minnie To solve the BFing in public problem I just wear a tank top under everything now. Easy to BF'd in, I just pull my tshirt up and the top of the tank top down. Discreet and much cheaper, comfier and more fashionable than most BF'ing tops I've seen original.gif

+Quote Post
PurpleNess
post 18/10/2011, 05:38 PM
Post #19
+
QUOTE (Happy_daisy @ 18/10/2011, 05:16 PM) *
Minnie To solve the BFing in public problem I just wear a tank top under everything now. Easy to BF'd in, I just pull my tshirt up and the top of the tank top down. Discreet and much cheaper, comfier and more fashionable than most BF'ing tops I've seen original.gif

Good Tip Happy - Minnie I'm in the same boat, all the BF tops I've seen just look like hard work, too many folds & bits. I bought a BF singlet from Target last week but it's not really ideal given the inbuilt bra...I'l need a proper bf feeding bra ( 14E currently!). Be good for around home but not really in public.
If I see anything around I'll holler, I want short sleeved / cross over type Tshirts given it'll be hotting up very soon.
Happy Hunting!

+Quote Post
*Minnie*
post 18/10/2011, 07:19 PM
Post #20
Thanks heapsHappy - The couple of tops i did buy are strange - some new kind of fashion i'm not up with- but they're great cause they are short at the front and long at the back, so i figured i'd wear a tank top underneath and it'll be all good original.gif

For the most part i'll be at home anyway, but it'd be nice to have something os standby so i dont advertise the goods tot he world.

+Quote Post

12 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 > » 
Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

The accidental attachment parent

"Attachment parenting has set me up for ... well, I'm not going to say failure, but for a very difficult time," says one mum.

Baby love is worth the expense

Amidst all the arguing over which paid parental leave scheme is best for parents, is anyone talking about what's best for babies?

Immunisation, fever and pain relief

Find out the benefits and risks involved with protecting your child from harmful diseases.

Thank You Mum

Send your mum a personalised eCard this Mother?s Day to show her you are thankful and to help us remember the women who face motherhood in situations of great adversity.

Free: 'The First Year' ebook

Check out our new interactive ebook, part of the brand new SMH Shortbooks series, for free!

One mum's 'biggest mistake' offers lesson for all

A mother sparked conversations around the world when she declared, in a national newspaper, that she wished she'd never had her two children. But her story can teach us a valuable lesson on parenthood.

Ask an expert: My child is suddenly resisting toilet training

My child is resisting the toilet training process. We got off to a good start, but now she?s refusing to use the toilet. What can we do now?

Johnson's Baby 'how to' videos

We've learned a lot since we launched our first JOHNSON'S� baby powder way back in 1894, so we've put together this collection of 'how to' videos to get you started on your exciting journey.

New dads are sexy and they know it

While most women wouldn?t associate being a new parent with feeling more attractive, it seems men see it differently: they think they?re better looking than before they were dads.

Competitions

Win a Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD Prize Pack!

You could win one of 20 Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD prize packs.

Win Logitech gadgets for your home

Win the UE Boombox to listen to music wherever you go, or a TV Cam HD to Skype loved ones right from your TV!

Win a Mamas & Papas Baby Bud

You could win a gorgeous innovative Mamas & Papas Baby Bud!

Win a MiniMonkey prize pack

You could win a MiniMonkey prize pack including one of the new 4-in-1 MiniMonkey Baby Carrier, Baby Sling & Nursing Cover.

Win a double pass to see Amity Dry?s new musical

We're giving you the opportunity to win one of three double passes to see Amity Dry?s musical, Mother, Wife and the Complicated Life. (Sydney show)

Preschool activities

Free downloadable printables

Colouring sheets, educational activities and more.

Featured Promotions

RSS Lo-Fi Version
Skin by IPB Customize
Time is now: 19/05/2013

Essential Baby and Essential Kids is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, kids entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums or the Essential Kids forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. Essential Kids features a range of free printable worksheets for kids from preschool years through to primary school years. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby and Essential Kids.