|
30/11/2012, 05:59 AM
|
|
|
|
|
Morning All,
I recently hijacked another thread on this topic. Being new and all, I've got some learning to do. Bear with me!!
I wanted to find out all of your views on exercise and pregnancy and see how you are / were coping with the struggles of the first trimester and maintaining fitness around it?
I'm 10 weeks pregnant now, had a viability scan at 6 weeks and my wee pup is where it should and it has a little ripper of a heart beat and all that. So I'm waiting for the NT scan etc at 12 weeks and am very comfortable that this pregnancy will just progress as it should.
In my pre-preggas life, I was an athlete (distance runner). So my body is used to being physically pushed, and doing a lot a lot of training. Since becoming pregnant, I've pulled back the intensity and the duration by about 40%, but I'm still running (jogging) 6 days a week and doing 3 or so gym sessions.
The doc has OK'd this in light of my physiological base and capacity, and it is really helping me manage the nausea and the moods that I've been hitting. It's also important for me to maintain a base during this pregnancy, as I intend to hit the marathons back in 2014. And I am very much a big believer that happy mum = happy baby.
I wanted to find out from you guys how you are travelling on this front, and what you are doing to keep fit and balanced during this uncomfy initial trimester?
Happy Friday ladies! We are in for a stinker here in Sydney today and over the weekend. I hope the weather will be kind to you all.
TheGub
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
30/11/2012, 06:34 AM
|

|
|
|
|
Hi TheGub, I was an elite athlete but have had chronic fatigue for the last 5yrs so 'proper' exercise is now not really an option for me. I do have a friend tho who is a fitness finatic and drilled her OB on what she can and can't do. Just be mindful of not over heating and that ur heart rate will be a lot higher than usual. Also as the baby gets bigger I'm not sure of the safety of running, maybe do some cross training swimming or something? As for me I was hoping to continue walking (was doing about 8k walks 4 times a week before pregnancy) but morning sickness and fatigue has put a grinding holt to anything other than lying on the couch at every opportunity! I hope to get back to walking in the second trimester health permitting. I do know a couple of the other girls mentioned that they were still exercising somewhat - think it all depends on how morning sickness is treating you and for me its been real mean!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
30/11/2012, 06:55 AM
|
|
|
|
|
I was going to the gym at the start before I found out, then the exhaustion hit and I haven't really been back since. I put my membership on hold until I was 12 weeks. It is active again now so I really should go back and do light cardio (the OH is bugging me about doing it) but I really just can't be bothered.
I should give it a go next week, it will probably make me feel better.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
30/11/2012, 07:54 AM
|
|
|
|
|
Hi TheGub
Good question!
I was fairly into exercise before finding out I was pregnant, I was doing Functional Fitness about 4 times a week (similar to crossfit, with weightlifting etc.), Muay Thai (kickboxing) around 3 times a week and riding/mountain biking once/twice a week. I've managed to keep up the Functional fitness but had to stop doing kickboxing as I've been so tired, and riding a lot less (no mountain biking on doctors orders - too bumpy!)
I'm in two minds about the whole thing. Part of me really dislikes how exhausted exercising makes me feel, and I don't think that's a good thing. At the same time, I tend to sleep better after a workout and I know it's good for me to be doing some form of exercise.
I'm thinking of taking up swimming, especially now that it's getting hot. I used to swim competitively, so I think I'll enjoy doing it again.
The other thing that's getting me about training is, as it's getting hotter, the gym is turning into a sauna (no air-conditioning), and I usually go at about 4-5pm, when it's really hot in there. I figure that can't be a good thing. I'm missing my session today cause I don't think I'll handle the heat. I'll take the dog for a big long walk once it gets cool instead!
Looking forward to 12 weeks when I (hopefully) get my energy back, ose the ms, and can start kickboxing again cause I can tell people!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
30/11/2012, 08:21 AM
|
|
|
|
|
I do like the different approaches that people have to exercise and its intensity during pregnancy.
Kate_123, like you, I was an elite athlete. I ultimately couldn't handle the load and ran into overtraining, chronic fatigue and hip / pelvis injuries galore, which put an end to my goals. I'm good with that now, and it's really nice to enjoy my sport for what it is again and without having to care about race outcomes.
Alongside that, though, I still have a resting HR of about 50 and I am very in tune with my body - I knew I was pregnant about a week after conception and can feel all the micro changes in my breathing, rate of exertion, pelvic alignment and all that. I choose not to go off the 140HR regulation, as (similar to the BMI charts) it's ultimately not a good indicator when you factor in differing heart rates and base fitness levels as a starting point. There is that scale of exertion, which suggests that you keep it at moderate (level 7 on a 1-10 scale), which is what I have been doing, and I find pulling back the intensity has also given me more enjoyment of the sport and the ability just to keep going.
Having said that, as I start to pop, I'll no doubt increase the cross training and swimming and reduce the running - that will happen intuitively as my body lets me know how I am travelling I think.
Woyapp, I hear you re the exhaustion. But do you not think that the exhaustion is just part and parcel of the pregnancy? In my mind, I know that I will hit 3.30 and in will come the nausea and the exhaustion and all the fun stuff - but getting out for some exercise in the morning seems to help lessen that, and I've not noticed it actually ADDING to the tiredness at all?? I'm also surprised that your doc didn't say no to the kickboxing as well as the bike riding. I'd be freaked about a kick to the guts!!
TheGub
This post has been edited by TheGub: 30/11/2012, 08:21 AM
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
30/11/2012, 09:34 AM
|

|
|
|
|
Well, pre pregnancy I was running a couple of times a week, weight training a couple of times of week and also going to spin classes. Relatively fit, but still room for improvement.
Since finding out, I've switched running for swimming, added yoga and stopped weight training and spin - but to be clear, that's because I've had three m/c and at the back of my mind was the worry about doing something 'wrong' to cause another one. The logical part of me knows that's not how m/c usually works, but heh, you can't control your emotions all the time!
I've had the 12 week scan now though, and bubs is looking good and strong, so I'm going back to weight training tomorrow. My trainer is a star - knows I'm pregnant, has heaps of experience training pregnant women, so I'm really confident he'll look after me. For me, it's important to go back as I want to stay strong and fit throughout - it can only help with labour and recovery.
He's very strict about the heart rate thing too, so he monitors me constantly...
Clare
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
30/11/2012, 09:58 AM
|
|
|
|
|
TheGub I guess I've noticed a marked increase in exhaustion after a workout. Like you, I'm pretty in tune with my body. My first indication that I was pregnant was a slight increase in fat around my midsection. As I was maintaining such a strict diet (I wish that was still the case!) and exercise regime I knew it had to be something else. I was so certain I was pregnant, but tests were showing up negative until about 1 week after my period was late.
It's hard to know what is and isn't adding to the exhaustion, what with the increase in heat lately (so I'm sleeping worse), change in diet and change in exercise regime, plus all the hormones. Because my diet's changed so much in the past 6 weeks, I'm sure that has to be making a difference. On night' when I train I am just so much more exhausted than on nights I don't.
My exhaustion and nausea are much worse around mid morning-lunchtime. My nausea seems to have a huge amount to do with eating (not so much what I'm eating, but when). So, I often find that come time for training, I have more energy than I've had all day (that was always the case for me though). But then once I'm exercising, I just fatigue so quickly. I guess it's just a bit of a mental battle for me, being so used to intense exercise before being pregnant, and now, not only finding it impossible to get to the same intensity as before (which I know is normal), but also not knowing how intense to make it.
I had a miscarriage earlier this year, and while I don't believe my level of exercise had anything to do with it, It;s still ever so slightly in the back of my mind. Plus everyone around me is very opinionated about what I should and shouldn't be doing exercise wise. My mum and sister are continually telling me not to exercise so much and take it easy. 'I'm not an invalid' I keep telling them!
As for the kickboxing, my Dr knows I stopped sparring as soon as I found out I was pregnant, but the classes are much more about technique and fitness than just kicking people. Plus my trainer knows, so he's very cautious and always partners up with me in any partner exercises. She's a good Dr, she obviously has faith in me doing what I know is best, and not doing anything sill.
Sorry for the long post, I've been dying to talk to people about exercise and pregnancy!
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
30/11/2012, 10:37 AM
|

|
|
|
QUOTE (Woyapp @ 30/11/2012, 10:58 AM)  I had a miscarriage earlier this year, and while I don't believe my level of exercise had anything to do with it, It;s still ever so slightly in the back of my mind. Plus everyone around me is very opinionated about what I should and shouldn't be doing exercise wise. My mum and sister are continually telling me not to exercise so much and take it easy. 'I'm not an invalid' I keep telling them! Woyapp - I've been getting the same pressure from my sister. I keep reminding myself they're just worried about me, but it can be frustrating when they won't stop! Clare
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
30/11/2012, 11:51 AM
|
|
|
|
|
I have the other end of the problem.
I am not really into exercises. I did jog and walk before pregnancy and have continued to walk daily into pregnancy.
However, husband think im being too sloppy with exercised and want me to go back to gym to run and do weights as well as start on kick boxing to get into shape more.
I am not so sure about weights and kickboxing since the weights means some lifting of 3-5kg each hand etc and kick boxing is something I have not done b4.
Running is probably ok now that i am out of 1st trimester and my bleeding problem has stopped. I was hoping i can get away with walking and swimming tho. Might think about yoga too.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
30/11/2012, 11:51 AM
|
|
|
|
|
I have the other end of the problem.
I am not really into exercises. I did jog and walk before pregnancy and have continued to walk daily into pregnancy.
However, husband think im being too sloppy with exercised and want me to go back to gym to run and do weights as well as start on kick boxing to get into shape more.
I am not so sure about weights and kickboxing since the weights means some lifting of 3-5kg each hand etc and kick boxing is something I have not done b4.
Running is probably ok now that i am out of 1st trimester and my bleeding problem has stopped. I was hoping i can get away with walking and swimming tho. Might think about yoga too.
|
|
|
|
|
|
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:
|
|
"Attachment parenting has set me up for ... well, I'm not going to say failure, but for a very difficult time," says one mum.
Amidst all the arguing over which paid parental leave scheme is best for parents, is anyone talking about what's best for babies?
Find out the benefits and risks involved with protecting your child from harmful diseases.
Check out our new interactive ebook, part of the brand new SMH Shortbooks series, for free!
A mother sparked conversations around the world when she declared, in a national newspaper, that she wished she'd never had her two children. But her story can teach us a valuable lesson on parenthood.
My child is resisting the toilet training process. We got off to a good start, but now she?s refusing to use the toilet. What can we do now?
We've learned a lot since we launched our first JOHNSON'S� baby powder way back in 1894, so we've put together this collection of 'how to' videos to get you started on your exciting journey.
While most women wouldn?t associate being a new parent with feeling more attractive, it seems men see it differently: they think they?re better looking than before they were dads.
Lighten the load when you win a Little Rascals Nappy Service!
You could win a copy of Parental Guidance on Blu-ray and DVD and tickets to Madame Tussauds Sydney.
You could win one of 20 Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD prize packs.
Win the UE Boombox to listen to music wherever you go, or a TV Cam HD to Skype loved ones right from your TV!
You could win a gorgeous innovative Mamas & Papas Baby Bud!
Preschool activities
Colouring sheets, educational activities and more.
Featured Promotions
|