Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
Woyapp
post 28/11/2012, 09:34 AM
Post #2
*   Posts: 72   Joined: 24-February 11   From: Canberra, ACT  
QUOTE (StrawberryMilk @ 28/11/2012, 10:15 AM) *
Hi Woyapp - I'm in Canberra too. Looking forward to the hot weekend??
Which hospital are you going to? I'm going to Calvary. We live on the south side but with our first we were in Gungahlin so Calvary was closest and since we had a good experience there and we are familiar with it we decided to go back. It's probably only an extra 10 minutes away.

Hi StrawberryMilk, Not really a fan of hot weather, so unfortunately not looking forward to the weekend! I'm thinking I'll hibernate inside, where it's nice and cool. How about you?

I'll be going to The Canberra Hospital. I live in the Inner South, so it's nice and close. Plus I'm low risk, so no need to go private. As far as I know the new maternity ward at TCH is really good. I have my first antenatal appt. on 3/12, so I should get to have a bit of a look at it.

Nice to know someone else in Canberra is on here original.gif

Sorry to hear about your horrible experience Bettinae. Some people really aren't nice. Hope today brings you something must more pleasant.

And KeyGal, I had a look through all the replies, to your post and I agree with others here, some really disgusting stuff was said. I know you probably don't need more opinions, but I agree with everyone who said that this was a two person effort, so both your feelings should be considered. I'd be apalled if my DP decided to go overseas with friends that late into the pregnancy. Especially when it's your first, of course you're worried. Overcautious or not, those are my feelings and I'm the person he's chosen to have a child with.

Hope everyone else is doing well original.gif

Also, GOLD!

This post has been edited by Woyapp: 28/11/2012, 09:38 AM

+Quote Post
StrawberryMilk
post 28/11/2012, 09:48 AM
Post #3
Yay Silver! I'm always too slow and seem to spend a whole day catching up on the first few pages of these threads.
Finally the wait is (almost) over, I have my NT scan tomorrow, first scan of this pregnancy. A little nervous as the last scan we had was back in August when we miscarried at 6 weeks, but I'm guessing that due to still feeling a bit off most days as well as the fact that I am wearing maternity pants things are progressing.
I am also very nervous about the possibility of multiples, we have them on both sides of the family so there is always a high chance!

Hoping to get a picture from the imaging place so I can announce to work on Friday. I'm surprised that nobody has guessed yet, I really do stick out quite noticeably.

Hope everyone else is starting to feel better, thank god that 3 months is over! Now bring on the swollen ankles and heartburn and leg cramps and stretch marks!!

+Quote Post
key_gal
post 28/11/2012, 10:06 AM
Post #4
Bronze ?

Ah yeah.. all these reprimanding of irrational, emotional, illogical, precious etc etc.. Many just think abt the DH away bit not the why he is away bit. And being told not to depend on partner / husband as long as deal with things by myself make me wonder what are ppls expectations these days?

Yeah if its work and stuff its unavoidable n I sld accept it. But if its hols and fun I think it can wait. Anyway, at least we are talking abt it not yelling abt it like last week. He is saying he din think it the plan will go ahead anyway cos his friend is too busy. Oct may be a go ahead if I go to parents. Previously hoped for family time together but if he wants hols he can go then since I will have more support. Thanks gals for the support shown here.

+Quote Post
LisaM07
post 28/11/2012, 10:25 AM
Post #5
Hi Girls!!!

Nervy i know I've been MIA I just can't even describe the work pressure at the moment it's insane but I've grabbed a quick minute to jump on in and say HI waves.gif

It sure sounds like there is a lot going on in our group I'm sorry everyone seems to be having such a dodgy of time of late sad.gif

Some great scan news though ladies so that's very positive indeed, Bettinae I'm sorry you had such a horrible experience though what is with people??? Do they not have feelings???

I feel terrible for not keeping up with everyone's news so I'm sorry that I haven't really don't any personals sad.gif

Does anyone else fall asleep before 9pm each night but then wake up at ridiculous times like 3am unable to go back to sleep because you're stressing about stupid things? Is anyone else feeling like maybe they are the only ones not coping so well with all this stuff when all the pregnant people you see seem to be fine? Anyone else already forget what it was like to function without these crazy thoughts and emotions and on a full nights sleep and without crying A LOT?

Sorry to be depressing sad.gif

Hope everyone has a good day and I promise I'll try to check in more!

L xxx

+Quote Post
aleksandrap
post 28/11/2012, 12:19 PM
Post #6
I'm sorry to put a negative post in, but I will be leaving the group. At my scan last Friday (9weeks, 4days) it turned out that my pregnancy stopped developing around 6 weeks. I have been booked in for a d and c tomorrow and coming to terms with all of this that been really hard. I've been off work all week and am an emotional mess.

I wish everyone all the best for the rest of your pregnancies. Take care of yourselves xx

+Quote Post
Woyapp
post 28/11/2012, 12:58 PM
Post #7
*   Posts: 72   Joined: 24-February 11   From: Canberra, ACT  
QUOTE (aleksandrap @ 28/11/2012, 01:19 PM) *
I'm sorry to put a negative post in, but I will be leaving the group. At my scan last Friday (9weeks, 4days) it turned out that my pregnancy stopped developing around 6 weeks. I have been booked in for a d and c tomorrow and coming to terms with all of this that been really hard. I've been off work all week and am an emotional mess.

I wish everyone all the best for the rest of your pregnancies. Take care of yourselves xx

Don't apologise, I'm sorry that you're going through this. I hope you're looking after yourself and have a good support system, it's such as horrible thing to have happen. Good luck with everything in the future and take care.

Sorry that you're feeling so bad LisaM07, I can't relate, I'm managing to sleep like a rock for about 10 hours a night, that is if DP doesn't decide to keep me up by trying to talk to me about his day for hours... I reckon that so many others are having similar experiences though, they just seem normal during the day, and when they ger home is when it's hard. So don't feel alone.

+Quote Post
Relly23
post 28/11/2012, 02:28 PM
Post #8
QUOTE (aleksandrap @ 28/11/2012, 12:19 PM) *

So sorry to hear, please take care if yourself xx

I'm most scared of this happening at my 12 wknd scan (i'm 9 weeks 3 days)... Early pregnancy is just a big waiting and worrying game sad.gif

+Quote Post
Tammoi01
post 28/11/2012, 02:29 PM
Post #9
QUOTE (Woyapp @ 28/11/2012, 01:58 PM) *
Sorry that you're feeling so bad LisaM07, I can't relate, I'm managing to sleep like a rock for about 10 hours a night, that is if DP doesn't decide to keep me up by trying to talk to me about his day for hours... I reckon that so many others are having similar experiences though, they just seem normal during the day, and when they ger home is when it's hard. So don't feel alone.

I'm sorry Woyapp, but I had to laugh at your comment about if DP doesn't decide to keep you up. As I had the same thing the other night with my DP who had been pottering about on his laptop in the lounge room with me without saying a word and then as soon as we go to bed and i'm almost comatose, he starts talking. I very quickly shut that conversation down!!

To aleksandrap. Not sure if you'll come back to read this. But I agree with Woyapp, there is no need to apologise to anyone. Just take care of yourself!

+Quote Post
CraftyGinger
post 28/11/2012, 02:47 PM
Post #10
Unfortunately, I've also come in with some bad news.
I had some cramping on Friday, and started bleeding Sat night. After ultrasounds at ED, we were told that bub was measuring about 8 weeks, when it should have been 11.5, and tere was no heartbeat. We went home to wait. Sunday night the pain started, and I got no sleep. I decided I couldn't handle the pain and waiting around, so had a D & C Monday arvo. We are heartbroken, but have been given the go ahead to start TTC whenever we're ready, so hoping for a BFP very soon.
Good luck to you all for the rest of your pregancies, and enjoy every minute. xx

+Quote Post

13 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Closed TopicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

The accidental attachment parent

"Attachment parenting has set me up for ... well, I'm not going to say failure, but for a very difficult time," says one mum.

Baby love is worth the expense

Amidst all the arguing over which paid parental leave scheme is best for parents, is anyone talking about what's best for babies?

Immunisation, fever and pain relief

Find out the benefits and risks involved with protecting your child from harmful diseases.

Thank You Mum

Send your mum a personalised eCard this Mother?s Day to show her you are thankful and to help us remember the women who face motherhood in situations of great adversity.

Free: 'The First Year' ebook

Check out our new interactive ebook, part of the brand new SMH Shortbooks series, for free!

One mum's 'biggest mistake' offers lesson for all

A mother sparked conversations around the world when she declared, in a national newspaper, that she wished she'd never had her two children. But her story can teach us a valuable lesson on parenthood.

Ask an expert: My child is suddenly resisting toilet training

My child is resisting the toilet training process. We got off to a good start, but now she?s refusing to use the toilet. What can we do now?

Johnson's Baby 'how to' videos

We've learned a lot since we launched our first JOHNSON'S� baby powder way back in 1894, so we've put together this collection of 'how to' videos to get you started on your exciting journey.

New dads are sexy and they know it

While most women wouldn?t associate being a new parent with feeling more attractive, it seems men see it differently: they think they?re better looking than before they were dads.

Competitions

Win a Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD Prize Pack!

You could win one of 20 Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD prize packs.

Win Logitech gadgets for your home

Win the UE Boombox to listen to music wherever you go, or a TV Cam HD to Skype loved ones right from your TV!

Win a Mamas & Papas Baby Bud

You could win a gorgeous innovative Mamas & Papas Baby Bud!

Win a MiniMonkey prize pack

You could win a MiniMonkey prize pack including one of the new 4-in-1 MiniMonkey Baby Carrier, Baby Sling & Nursing Cover.

Preschool activities

Free downloadable printables

Colouring sheets, educational activities and more.

Featured Promotions

RSS Lo-Fi Version
Skin by IPB Customize
Time is now: 21/05/2013

Essential Baby and Essential Kids is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, kids entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums or the Essential Kids forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. Essential Kids features a range of free printable worksheets for kids from preschool years through to primary school years. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby and Essential Kids.