|
Navigation |
|
|||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||||
![]() ![]() |
|
08/11/2012, 08:46 AM
|
|
![]()
|
|
| Member | |
|
Falling for your obstetrician.
By Kylie Orr Let me paint you a picture. A rotund man who insists on wearing a bowtie and a wide smile with slightly yellowed teeth. Not a man you’d secrete sex pheromones over, that’s certain. Over time you develop a fondness for the man, which you can’t quite pinpoint. You feel comfortable in his presence, reassured by his knowledge and care; you trust his experience and expertise. You start thinking about this man more often than seems normal. He sidles his way into your dreams and daily thoughts. You start seeing him more often – monthly visits become fortnightly, then weekly. The attachment deepens. Is it mutual or are you imagining it? You are married for Pete’s Sake, and about to have a baby! Pull yourself together, crazy pregnant woman. He nurtures you through some incredibly vulnerable moments, sees you in your rawest state. He navigates places only your partner has dared. Then, he delivers a healthy baby for you. You are in love! But this time, it is with the tiny being he places on your chest. He is your obstetrician. Sorry to burst your bubble. I had a variety of medical carers throughout my four pregnancies but the overseeing Obstetric GP, also my family GP, was a man I adored. He bears no resemblance to Bradley Cooper, Orlando Bloom, or Johnny Depp but his endearing kindness and proficient medical care certainly cemented my affection. To assure myself I was not 50 shades of freak, I put the question to my friends about whether they too, had fallen for their obstetrician or doctor. The initial replies were not too reassuring: “Eewwwwwh!!” Some had predominantly female obstetricians so didn’t develop a crush, others thought the idea was preposterous confirming my initial concerns that I was indeed freakish. Just as I was about to give up on the idea, I was told stories of “Vaginal Lionel” – an apparently well-known obstetrician who supports vaginal delivery. This particular friend told me she was one of many women who adored him. She admitted that during her long and arduous labour she was calling out “Lionel, Lionel” whilst staring down her poor husband (whose name funnily enough, is not Lionel!). Another friend relayed a story of a great grandmother who named her firstborn son after the delivering obstetrician. Does it indicate a fondness for her caregiver when his name was used in place of the husband’s? Finally, I was reassured by a woman who was in love with her obstetrician “not in a sexual way” but when he walked into the delivery room during her first labour she had stars in her eyes: “the incredible trust and safety I felt when he was present made me feel everything was going to be OK.” Displaced feelings for specialists in caring roles, often referred to as “transference” in the psychology world, is more common than you may think. When I say common, I mean I’ve heard a couple of stories to help ease my concern about being weird. I cannot find any data or statistics to support this claim, despite spending hours trawling the net reading about random women who have fallen for their doctors. Does this small sample suggest we are lone riders in the loving your obstetrician game? Have you fallen for an obstetrician / fertility specialist / doctor? Kylie. |
|
|
|
|
08/11/2012, 09:09 AM
|
|
![]()
|
|
| Member | |
|
I adore my Ob. I also became close to the Midwife, Anaesthetist and Paed who were there when my son died.
All 4 were there for my daughters birth which was only a year later and I do feel a bond with them. It was an emotional day and there was lots of tears and joy from all of us, I could tell they were personally affected by it. They are wonderful people and guided me through an intensely hard time. Wonderful, wonderful caregivers. I feel very lucky and they have my complete trust. Fortunately for me my Ob is not old and is actually quite attractive so I had that plus too |
|
|
|
|
08/11/2012, 09:22 AM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| My war paint is Sharpie ink | |
|
Kylie unfortunately I'm reminded of an episode of Family Guy the parodies feminine hygiene commercials. Meg asks her mother "Mum, do you ever feel not so fresh...down there." Her mum pauses and responds "No. Never. And I don't know anyone who ever has."
You paint a nice picture though. I can see how immense trust could lead to fond attachment. And I'm pretty fond of my obstetrician but it ends there. Maybe it's just that my pregnancies have been so humdrum routine that we've not been through the wringer together. He didn't even make it in time to birth my second child - it all went smoothly and unexpectedly fast at the end. |
|
|
|
|
08/11/2012, 10:14 AM
|
|
![]()
|
|
| Member | |
|
QUOTE when he walked into the delivery room during her first labour she had stars in her eyes: “the incredible trust and safety I felt when he was present made me feel everything was going to be OK. This totally resonates with me. I had such great anxieties that he would be on leave bc bub was overdue, I begged him to induce me immediately. He said, no way. I will do what is medically right for you and baby. That made me love him even more! I would get so excited when I was going to see him for my appts, I STILL totally adore him. |
|
|
|
|
08/11/2012, 11:35 AM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| "Hell is other people," Jean-Paul Sartre | |
|
I love this article, it rings so true for me, I loved my OB and might have considered having a fourth just to continue our 'association'.
I think it was because going public with DS1's difficult birth then going to my OB for my two subsequent births, I felt in such good hands that I was grateful all the way into a teenage-girl-type crush. I'm jealous of all the pregnant mums now in his care! |
|
|
|
|
08/11/2012, 12:19 PM
|
|
![]() ![]()
|
|
| Regular Member | |
|
My OB was so popular among women that I discovered a facebook group page dedicated to him called "My baby was delivered by Dr 'insert his name here'. Kind of stalkerish but amusing to read.
He was early 40s definitely not rotund nor did he have yellowing teeth, quite the opposite He had a beautiful, caring manner and almost had you believing you were the only pregnant woman in the world. I didn't 'fall' for him but had great trust in him and certainly felt safe. Pregnancy & birth are part of an incredible journey and since OBs are involved to some extent I can understand how some woman would confuse their feelings. |
|
|
|
|
08/11/2012, 12:31 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Advanced Member | |
|
Not my OB (who was more of a rotund avuncular type of chap) but definitely my anaesthetist .....very swoon worthy, he looked like Gregory peck (in his younger years)....I remember 5 yrs after having DS1 I was booking my pre c section interview and my OBs receptionist mentioned a different anaesthetist ....I asked her what happened to Dr X, she told me my OB now worked with a different guy and if I wanted Dr X I would have to specifically ask for him...she then said "a lot of women do" with a knowing look! Seems he was quite popular with the ladies....
|
|
|
|
|
08/11/2012, 12:36 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Advanced Member | |
|
I know heaps that loved our Pead!!! caring, loves kids..good looking..what's not to love lol.
|
|
|
|
|
08/11/2012, 12:39 PM
|
|
![]() ![]() ![]()
|
|
| Advanced Member | |
|
QUOTE Does this small sample suggest we are lone riders in the loving your obstetrician game? Have you fallen for an obstetrician / fertility specialist / doctor? Nope. But I will always remember the names of the anaesthetist - S, M, R and I Wouldn't know what they look like but they put me out of pain |
|
|
|
|
08/11/2012, 12:49 PM
|
|
![]()
|
|
| Member | |
|
I opened this thread sure it would be about MY obstetrician. He is not my type at all, but when googling him before meeting him (as you do) there were a number of gushing threads about how handsome he was.
So, Melbourne, just under 40 I reckon, dark, yes handsome, just not my type as I say, who knows who he is? |
|
|
|
|
![]() ![]() |
"Attachment parenting has set me up for ... well, I'm not going to say failure, but for a very difficult time," says one mum.
Amidst all the arguing over which paid parental leave scheme is best for parents, is anyone talking about what's best for babies?
Find out the benefits and risks involved with protecting your child from harmful diseases.
Check out our new interactive ebook, part of the brand new SMH Shortbooks series, for free!
A mother sparked conversations around the world when she declared, in a national newspaper, that she wished she'd never had her two children. But her story can teach us a valuable lesson on parenthood.
My child is resisting the toilet training process. We got off to a good start, but now she?s refusing to use the toilet. What can we do now?
We've learned a lot since we launched our first JOHNSON'S� baby powder way back in 1894, so we've put together this collection of 'how to' videos to get you started on your exciting journey.
While most women wouldn?t associate being a new parent with feeling more attractive, it seems men see it differently: they think they?re better looking than before they were dads.
Skip to:
Lighten the load when you win a Little Rascals Nappy Service!
You could win a copy of Parental Guidance on Blu-ray and DVD and tickets to Madame Tussauds Sydney.
You could win one of 20 Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD prize packs.
Win the UE Boombox to listen to music wherever you go, or a TV Cam HD to Skype loved ones right from your TV!
You could win a gorgeous innovative Mamas & Papas Baby Bud!
Colouring sheets, educational activities and more.
|
Lo-Fi Version Skin by IPB Customize |
Time is now: 26/05/2013 |