21 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > »   
Closed TopicStart new topic

> TTC #2 Thread #205, For those trying to conceive their second child

V
mummamajeena
post 18/02/2012, 04:11 PM
Post #21
Advanced Member
Jess yay for medicare!! and next cycle is great, not too long to wait.
Go to the top of the page

+Quote Post
CheriDeMomie
post 18/02/2012, 07:15 PM
Post #22
QUOTE (mummamajeena @ 18/02/2012, 04:05 PM) *
Cheri I would LOVE to be our Feb BFP wink.gif
Nope DS was conceived totally naturally. Took around 5-6 months but we got there. Our Dr has told us we have 'Secondary Unexplained Infertility' extremely frustrating!!!

I've heard about that happening ... obviously seeing it first hand now in this thread! Gives m hope though seeing all you girls going through AC - i'm just so so keen for it to work for you !!!!! Bring on the BFP !!!! How long were you trying before going to the FS??? xxxx

QUOTE (jesstazzy @ 18/02/2012, 04:29 PM) *
oh and my medicare refund I put in for yesterday, she said should be in my account Monday. So we are all set financially for next cycle..... in April dry.gif

Yaaaay - so exciting!!!!! But ... do you mean you have to wait til April to get the embryo's put in ???? We might get our BFPs at the same time yet ... I am seriously thinking of not trying properly this month and next month as i'm starting to think of cheese and wine and all the yummy things i will want to have overseas ... hmmmm

This post has been edited by CheriDeMomie: 18/02/2012, 07:16 PM

+Quote Post
Bellefin
post 19/02/2012, 10:47 AM
Post #23
Proud BFAR mum 12 months!
Cheri Oh I love Barcelona wub.gif I had such a great time there, many years ago. If I were you I'd keep trying, there is still tons of yummy stuff you can eat there, just not the wine. But that's just me cos I can't freaking get pregnant, I don't think there's anything I wouldn't give up to get pregnant right now.

Jess April?! How come not next cycle? Man this baby is gonna be special!

Mummamajeena yay for you! Me too, DD took only 3 months to conceive, I never dreamed I'd be at a FS for #2. Was it an easy decision to make to go for IVF or did it take you a while?

V's mummy Nice work with the OPKs. Get down to it!

Keeping it quiet Hi and good luck, how long did it take you with #1 with your long cycles?

AFM I went back to the FS to see a nurse and she explained everything better to me. I am waiting for AF, then I get a blood test CD2, then CD10 and continuing until they are satisfied I'm about to O at which point they call me and tell me to BD. If they discover a problem with any hormone level they will give me clomid or something to correct it for the following cycle. If that doesn't work, she said we go straight to artificial insemination. She said it costs about $500 a cycle and is just like a pap smear. It's to bypass the CM, they put a catheter tube thing right up into the uterus and put all the spermies up there.

I really don't know how I feel about that at the moment. I haven't had a chance to talk to DP about it yet because we have people staying with us right now. Drugs I don't mind if it's just a hormone imbalance. I can't help thinking about what that clairvoyant lady said about the 3 year thing so I think I'm not going to go for the insemination until after the time DD would be 3 if we decide to do it, and it's only skipping one or 2 cycles anyway and getting past the Xmas/NY EDD. I feel like I'm struggling with the morals of it all but at the end of the day, a baby is a baby, right?

I still don't have AF which is good because it means my LP is longer again after all the naturopath stuff made it shorter. I stupidly let myself believe I might be UTD but an HPT confirmed that as usual, I'm not. I don't even know why I let myself think it. My temp is going down steadily but at this rate I think I'm going to have a 13 day LP which is awesome but doesn't mean I'm going to get pregnant.

+Quote Post
gisses
post 19/02/2012, 12:36 PM
Post #24

Not good news for me i'm afraid. For those of you who dont want all the gory details, skip this post.

On Friday I got what I thought was a very light line on a preg test but was waiting until yesterday to re-test.

Before testing I saw that I had a couple of large drops of red blood so thought AF was coming along. I then got some uncomfortable pains and then a really large bleed last night complete with clots etc. This isnt a usual AF for me. What I got last night (and am continuing to get today) is way more than I usually get when having my period. Normally I get some brown streaking, then it goes pink for the 1st 2 days. Then it is heavy overnight and on the 3rd day before going pink and brown again. This is just blood, blood, blood, soaking through a tampon every 2 hours and getting on my undies and last night it was in my bed.

Do you think I had a m/c? Or is it just a really heavy period or maybe a chem preg again?

I am really confused cause I was having exactly the same symptoms as I did when I was pregnant with Leah, even the same dreams about needing to go to the toilet. The symptoms disappeared a few hours before the big bleed yesterday...

I feel like the biggest idiot, reading back through all my posts about being pregnant. Next time I think I will just wait for the blood test.

I know that I shouldnt be feeling so upset seeing as there are so many people out there having trouble conceiving but I swear this time I was pregnant.

Sorry for the rant, I just needed to get it out cause it is upsetting me.

I will come back for personals another day.

+Quote Post
nurserobin
post 19/02/2012, 12:38 PM
Post #25
Hi Ladies, Hope your sundays are treating you well.

Vs Mummy- YAY for your positive OPK, Hope you had fun over the weekend wink.gif

kpingitquiet- Hello and Welcome, goodluck with your pre conception prep, quitting smoking not an easy task but I'm sure you can do it! Hope your cycles get back to regular like they were soon also to make the wait less for you.

CheriDeMomie- Was it you asking about previous BFP being a CP?, if so, its not me whos had one this is our 5th cycle TTC and never had a CP and hope never to. I'm so jealous of your trip, DH and I love to travel is so much. Sorry if I havent picked this up but when do you leave and get back?

mummamajeena- How are you feeling? its almost Monday, I bet your excited. Wishing you the most goodluck.

jesstazzy- Thats good news about medicare putting money in your account. Hope your studying is going well. what is your exam on? I totally stuffed my medication quiz at work I am so bad at Maths, You can put me at the patients beside and Im all good but put me in a test situation and Im just dumb. anyway Im glad your doing ok, April and Easter are just around the corner this years going very fast. scary actually. take care

Bellefin- Sounds like ALOT to think about, but its good your doing the blood tests and you will get some help from the FS. A baby is definitely a baby and how you got there is a story but it doesnt matter in the long run as long as your happy. thats good about the longer LP and hope AF doesnt show and you are actually pregnant this month, its not over till the witch shows.

AFM- CD 22, I reckon about 7 dpo. Feeling the same as every month which is nothing. Next weekend we are flying up to Sydney for a wedding in Avoca Beach so looking forward to that but most of all looking forward to finding out if UTD or not.

Have a good week everyone. take care.

from nurserobin

+Quote Post
nurserobin
post 19/02/2012, 12:45 PM
Post #26
gisses- thats sounds terrible you poor thing. Its very hard to say whats causing the heavy bleeding a M/C or just a very heavy period. I usually have periods like you described but last month had a very unusually heavy one, so perhaps its just that. I hope your okay and keep ranting thats what this place is for. feel better soon.

from nurserobin

+Quote Post
mummamajeena
post 19/02/2012, 03:05 PM
Post #27
Advanced Member
gisses- sorry to hear what you've been going through. it does sound like a very unusual AF, so maybe a very early m/c ? sad.gif
take care.

bellefin & Cheri- I think we'd been TTC for 6-7 months when we made an appt with the FS. I was 37 then and he said given my age it wasn't a bad idea to get the basic tests done. so I had the blood tests you're having and the HyCoSy. All came back fine. DP had his test, which came back OK also. We decided to kep going naturally for the next 6 months, ended up going back to the FS about 9 months later I think, Agreed to do IVF. We asked about Clomid and IUI but he thought I was getting older and there was no indication I wasn't ovulating, my egg reserve was good so we all agreed no point in wasting more time and went for IVF. Did that last May/June. Got a BFN. Then did 5 months of the Chinese Doc and December went back to the FS to start the process for IVf no.2. And here we are today!

Bellefin to be honest if I were your age I'd probably keep trying naturally for another 12 months. Then if still nothing maybe try the IUI or Clomid first. Hard not to panic though I know, and it's not a bad idea to get all of the tests done. Did you get the AMH- egg reserve blood test too?

+Quote Post
aurora sleeping
post 19/02/2012, 06:31 PM
Post #28
Hey everyone!!! *cough cough cough cough cough* mellow.gif Ugh I am sick today with a bad cough - worse today than the last few days. Feel so crappy. I'm considering taking tomorrow off work and if I do I'll keep DS home too (normally at daycare) as his cough is also pretty bad. I don't think it's anything to be too concerned about, it's just a really bad cough.

Fairly sure work has completely run me down. Man, I'm only just about to start week 4 - that's a very bad sign. How am I going to be at the end of term if I'm pregnant at the same time??? Bloody exhausted probably! Ah well, not waiting any longer to TTC so I'll take it when it comes.

Cheri - OH so excited for you to go to Paris, you will just love it!!!!!! ddance.gif It's up to you, but you could try a 'relaxed' approach to TTC while away? You know, not using protection and see what happens? That's what we did to get our DS while we were over there. Plus, I reckon if you conceived over there while having wine and cheese etc it wouldn't harm the bub as it'd be pretty early days - I can understand if you wanted to cut it all out in order to give the best chance of conceiving but if you're thinking of waiting anyway, I figure you may as well enjoy yourselves and let things go the way they want to go!!! Just my opinion. Plus you can't pass up the chance to have all that good wine, cheese and romance!! WooooWOOOOOOO!!!! llove.gif Hahahaha love that you ate the donut! I was tempted but got myself something yummy to stop me!!!! Everything certainly sounds like it's getting itself ready to be pregnant (re your AF stuff) so that's good!

BTW good call on keeping your DD back - I think with most kids, if they're going to be quite young in a year, it's better to keep them til the next year. I think they cope a lot better - just seen a bit as a high school teacher, plus my brother was young for his year and he hasn't made many good decisions in the past few years as he was exposed to stuff and wasn't mature enough to deal with it properly. I'm sure it's not like that for every single person, but it does tend to happen a bit. Pretty exciting with the violin! I'm going to get pain lessons for my DS when he's a bit older as he already shows an interest in music and DH and I are pretty musical too.

Hi kpingitquiet, welcome!!!!! waves.gif Hope your stay in here is short lived too! Good on you for getting yourself ready and losing weight etc. I did that a couple of months ago and it feels so much better to start from a healthier point when TTC. I think I'll be careful with eating when I'm preg this time round, just making sure I don't overdo it with the cheeseburgers like I did last time. Might make the post preg weight a bit lower than last time! yyes.gif I'm sure the antibiotics have mucked around with your cycle, hopefully it'll right itself soon and put your mind more at ease. Mine's irregular and is sometimes a bit of a bugger to work out. It would be great if they all just went like clockwork wouldn't it! rolleyes.gif

mumma I bet you're pretty excited for tomorrow!!! Hoping you'll be our very next BFP.gif !!!!!! Would be so nice for you after your long wait. Best wishes for you mate. You and all the other ladies doing some sort of AC in here give me hope that if it doesn't all go to plan naturally, we have options, just like Cheri said.

Belle it's good you've got a few plans of action there - great news! And also with the longer cycle too, hope that's a good sign of things to come. And yes, it's a good idea to talk with DP about the morals of it all. I think it's important to have it all figured out in your head before embarking on it. I haven't had to think about it all myself as we haven't gone down that route yet, but I think there are lots of things that can be done to get the baby you'd like to have and I don't think there's anything wrong with getting help with it too. Hope you can come to some conclusions with your DP and keep moving forward. hhugs.gif 11 months is a long time, you've done well to persevere so far!!!

Oh gisses, I'm not sure what it was but it does sound a bit like it could have been an early M/C, especially with getting a faint line on a test. I would feel devastated too lovely. cry1.gif Don't be embarrassed about your earlier posts mate, you were getting lots of signs that you were preg and I'm sure heaps of us in here would have been thinking the same as you. You can come in here and rant all you like, that's what we're here to do - listen and try to provide some support to each other when times are crappy. Oh lovely, whatever it was, a non pregnancy or a M/C, that really sucks that for a while you were expecting it to be okay. Big hugs to you and hope that you can be kind to yourself over the next few days. If it keeps bleeding heavily though, I'd go to a doctor just to make sure it's all okay. hhugs.gif

nurserobin - Have fun in Avoca Beach! It's a lovely place! I've been up there a few times myself (I live in Sydney).

Hope everyone else is going okay - I'm thinking I'll test on the 24th but I don't have high hopes. The more I go along the more I think we missed it this month. Anyway, anyone else POAS this week???

+Quote Post
jesstazzy
post 19/02/2012, 07:48 PM
Post #29
Advanced Member
mummamajeena
All the best for tomorrow and enjoy the day relaxing in bed!! GOOD LUCK!! xoxo

+Quote Post
Pssst...
post 19/02/2012, 08:21 PM
Post #30
Hi all. I apologise in advance for any typos I'm on my phone...

mumma - good luck for tomorrow, hope it all goes well

carol - how are you going with the herbs? Hope they don't taste too gross

aurora - AF is due 22nd but I do bootcamp on Wednesdays so will prob forget to test as I'm just on auto pilot first thing in the morning! So that's why i figured i'd test on the 23rd. Hope you feel better soon, and your DS too!

belle- glad to hear you're finally seeing someone who knows what they're doing! LOL at your DH feeling all manly!

duck - I had DD via c-sect but my scar is really good so I hope it doesn't affect me. It didn't affect my mum who had c-sect, natural, natural, c-sect, c-sect and was told she could go for one more if she wanted to!! Yikes!! Cadavers without warning and stats on fri night. Talk about dedication!!

V's mummy - hi! Our DD is 15 months and I joined this group around Xmas. I'll be going for a vbac

gisses - not sure re: MC or AF but either way, big hugs

andrea - how exciting that TT is going so well! Hope O is imminent

clm - wow triplets! Not sure I could handle that, but I do harbour a secret desire for twins! Did you get your +ve OPK

nurse - wedding in avoca sounds lovely

cheri - love zip, that's cute! My logical brain totally agrees with your view on c-sect but my heart of hearts still wonders 'what if?' hopefully I'll get to experience a vb but really a healthy mummy and healthy baby is the main thing original.gif I agree that you should enjoy all the good things on hols (incl BD!) and see what happens

keeping - hello! Good luck with your pre TTC plans. How long will you be on holiday?

Jess - good luck for your exam tomorrow

AFM - CD25. On fri and sat I felt quite queasy all morning up to lunch time, esp fri. So I decided to test this morning and BFN. Wasn't too surprised though. So now just waiting for AF on wed or thurs

This post has been edited by Pssst...: 20/02/2012, 04:40 AM

+Quote Post

21 Pages V  < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 
Closed TopicStart new topic
2 User(s) are reading this topic (2 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

The accidental attachment parent

"Attachment parenting has set me up for ... well, I'm not going to say failure, but for a very difficult time," says one mum.

Baby love is worth the expense

Amidst all the arguing over which paid parental leave scheme is best for parents, is anyone talking about what's best for babies?

Immunisation, fever and pain relief

Find out the benefits and risks involved with protecting your child from harmful diseases.

Thank You Mum

Send your mum a personalised eCard this Mother?s Day to show her you are thankful and to help us remember the women who face motherhood in situations of great adversity.

Free: 'The First Year' ebook

Check out our new interactive ebook, part of the brand new SMH Shortbooks series, for free!

One mum's 'biggest mistake' offers lesson for all

A mother sparked conversations around the world when she declared, in a national newspaper, that she wished she'd never had her two children. But her story can teach us a valuable lesson on parenthood.

Ask an expert: My child is suddenly resisting toilet training

My child is resisting the toilet training process. We got off to a good start, but now she?s refusing to use the toilet. What can we do now?

Johnson's Baby 'how to' videos

We've learned a lot since we launched our first JOHNSON'S� baby powder way back in 1894, so we've put together this collection of 'how to' videos to get you started on your exciting journey.

New dads are sexy and they know it

While most women wouldn?t associate being a new parent with feeling more attractive, it seems men see it differently: they think they?re better looking than before they were dads.

Competitions

Win a Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD Prize Pack!

You could win one of 20 Call the Midwife Series 2 DVD prize packs.

Win Logitech gadgets for your home

Win the UE Boombox to listen to music wherever you go, or a TV Cam HD to Skype loved ones right from your TV!

Win a Mamas & Papas Baby Bud

You could win a gorgeous innovative Mamas & Papas Baby Bud!

Win a MiniMonkey prize pack

You could win a MiniMonkey prize pack including one of the new 4-in-1 MiniMonkey Baby Carrier, Baby Sling & Nursing Cover.

Win a double pass to see Amity Dry?s new musical

We're giving you the opportunity to win one of three double passes to see Amity Dry?s musical, Mother, Wife and the Complicated Life. (Sydney show)

Preschool activities

Free downloadable printables

Colouring sheets, educational activities and more.

Featured Promotions

RSS Lo-Fi Version
Skin by IPB Customize
Time is now: 18/05/2013

Essential Baby and Essential Kids is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, kids entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums or the Essential Kids forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. Essential Kids features a range of free printable worksheets for kids from preschool years through to primary school years. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby and Essential Kids.