Navigation

Welcome Guest
( Log In | Register )

8 Pages V   1 2 3 > » 
Entries in June 2013

It's been awhile...

Posted by White-Lily, 17/06/2013, 03:25 PM

Wow, I have been slack with this! Here my attempt at catching up and filling in some blanks

DD1 is settled right in at school which is wonderful. She asks every morning if it is a school day and has started to say she wishes everyday was a school day! She has made a few friends which is nice and I think we will be having an out of school play date with one or two of them soon which will be nice.
They started to do 'News' a few weeks ago which DD loves!! She is so excited to get up and tell her news which is great as sometimes she can be a bit shy but she is very comfortable and confident in class so I'm told!

We had her hospital check ups for her hip and her liver stuff. Her hips are good, still need to curve around a bit more so they will continue to monitor, possibly until she stops growing, but that's better than having something get missed and having problems later on.
And we actually have a diagnoses for her liver condition! It has a name! Alpha 1 anti trypsin deficient is what my poor baby has. We have been led to believe she has a mild deficiency but we won't know numbers until we go through the genetic counceling. Anyway this explains all the little things that have cropped up over the years. The issues she has when she was a newborn, the jaundice that took 6 months to go away, the persistent chest infections and bouts of pneumonia and why she get deteriorates so quickly when she gets the slightest cold. The whole thing sucks but at least we have an answer now. So she has been referred for genetic counselling (the rest of the family will also be counceled as it is genetic... sad.gif ) and also to a respiratory specialist. Then after that I'm not sure. She also has a new Paed but I'm guessing one of the genetic counceling will fill us in on long term plans for management and such. But all things considered, she is well right now and has been for a while which is fantastic original.gif

DD2 is just over 10 months! OMG! I'm not sure how she got so big??? She has been crawling well for a while now (~2 months) and has started to cruise and walk with someone holding her hands. She can say 'Dad', 'Mum', 'Nan' and 'No', shake her head, clap her hands, dance to music, copy some sounds, growl (lol) and lots of other mannerisms. She seems to pick up something new everyday. Over the last week or so she has decided to try and blow bubbles in the bath. She gets right down on her belly and slides around while putting her face in the water, when she sits up again she just looks so pleased with herself! It's so cute.
We also had DD2's hip check up which also went well. She got moved across into the specialist clinch that DD1 is in so now they are both under the same Ortho which is great, apps can be done on the same day! Woo! Anyway, her hips are exactly where they need to be and the measurements and smack bag in the middle of 'nor,al' which is brilliant. She will be continued to be monitored for a while due to DD1s hips and the rest of the family history , but so far so good!

The girls are adorable together, they can actually play together now that DD2 is a bit bigger. I'm excited for when they can run around together outside but at the same time i don't want them to get too big! They are both still my babies!!

AFM I was made redundant at work while on maternity leave. I was sort of given the choice and took the package. It was a no brainer really! Redundancy package or go back to work full time witha demotion! Umm... Easy pick! And I don't really want to work right now anyway, which made it easier to choose! So I'm officially a SAHM and I'm very grateful to be able to be in this position especially after having to go back to work after DD1 but its really tar ge to not have a job and some more direction career wise. I just assumed my career was with that company and its obviously not anymore! I have been thinking of doing some study and reskilling but I just don't really know what I want to do and then I only want t do it part time while the girls are young. Decisions, decisions! I have been thinking about this all for months and I'm no closer to a decision than I was 3 months ago! I will work it all out eventually original.gif in the meantime i am just enjoying my home time and trying to make the most of it.

Still not an Aunty yet. Bub has done brilliantly to cook for so long all things considered! EDD is only 6-7 weeks away and all is going well.

Entries in February 2013

4th Birthday and School

Posted by White-Lily, 07/02/2013, 12:47 PM

Wow, its been a busy few weeks!!

DD1 turned 4... I dont know how she got so big and grown up?!? We had a Peppa Pig Muddy Puddles Birthday Party for her which she loved!! There were only a few kids but we had a 'muddy puddle' set up for them which they loved jumping in! They made a huge mess but thats the best part about being a kid I think! The puddle was made of Mud Cake Mix so after every jump the girls were licking the 'mud' off their arms! It was awesome! DD1 only had one meltdown when we were trying to clean her up but after a time out and a chat with mum all was well again.
She was very spoilt and got lots of prezzies from the family. She got a Peppa Pig dollhouse from us and a big girls bike which she loves.

And just to make her seem even more grown up she started Kindy this week (5 days per fortnight)! Its going ok. She is doing half days for the first 3 weeks to ease them all into school life. First day she was totally fine with DH and I dropping her off. But now its just mum dropping off and she is increasingly clingy. It breaks my heart when she is like this, just makes me feel crappy when I leave sad.gif I know she is probably fine as soon as I'm gone but still its not much fun leaving. She does love school though and chats about what she all afternoon. She will get used to it with time.

I'm sort of at a loss with what to do without her though. 2 hours is not a long time to do anything really so this week hasnt been as productive as I had hoped it would be. By the time I feed DD2 and put her down for a nap its time to go and pick DD1 up again. Never mind, when she starts going for full days I will be productive them, well try to be!
It is very nice to have some 1:1 time with DD2, even it is just to have a good feed without anyone distracting her!

DD2 is doing pretty good. She is just above 9kg and is about 69cm long so she is still huge!! But nice and healthy! She went thru a phase of night waking over the last month as she learnt how to roll over from her back to her tummy but she has started to sleep thru again the last few nights which is very welcome!!
She has her next hip check up tomorrow. They are going to do an x-ray this time so they can get and exact measurement and hopefully if things are good she wont have to wear her harness any more. Im on the fence about this, obviously her not wearing the harness is a good thing but I just know it os going to mean a few sleepless nights for me while she gets used to the extra movement... Ive only just got her back to sleeping through!! Hopefully it wont take too many nights for her to work it all out and sleep properly! Well fingers crossed!

Well the only other news I have is that I'm going to be an AUNTY!! And I'm super excited about it!! My Brother and his darling wife are expecting!! Bub is due late July but will probably be born earlier than that as it was thought that SIL wouldn't be able to sustain a pregnancy and if she did fall she most likely wont carry to term. So we are all expecting a prem bub but hopefully bubby can hold on for as long as he/she can to grow big and strong before coming to meet us all. In any case we are all over the moon with happiness for them and are praying everything goes well.
Haven't bought anything for bub mainly because I don't want to jinx it! But I am thinking I might be creative and make things original.gif I'm hoping to make a minky blanket and maybe a sock monkey toy. SIL's mum has gone a bit mental with buying things so I thought making something would be nice and it would obviously be one of a kind so no need to worry about someone else giving them the same thing!

Oh, I do have one more bit of 'news'... I don't think I have a job to return to... Not really sure how I feel about it either. Right now I have no desire to go back to work of any sort BUT I probably should for numerous reasons.
So for the 12-18 months before leaving my work load increased so much and I told my managers more than once that there was too much for one person and I couldn't do it all alone any more. So I go on leave and hey, guess what, White-Lily was right!! So they split my job up between two main people (employing another person) and gave the receptionist some of my other random tasks, so essentially three people now do the work I was doing alone. So my job doesn't exist any more... they have no need any more for an office manager... Not sure what happens from now but I have to talk to Fair Work and the HR person in HO. I would really just like to be made redundant and take a package but then at the same time I'm only a few months away from being able to access my LSL... Argh, its all just too hard to even think about right now. I'm going to just play it all out when its closer to the end of my ML. Its just a big mess IMO.

Anyway, its time to wake DD2 up (only just got her to sleep not long ago mad.gif ) and go to pick DD1 up from Kindy.

Entries in January 2013

Xmas and Stuff

Posted by White-Lily, 03/01/2013, 10:54 PM

Wow, its been a while!

Christmas was good but exhausting! It always starts early for us with birthdays and other non Christmas events and then it just keeps going for 2 weeks before things start to return to any kind of normal. Out of 10 days we were out late for 9 nights! DD1 just got so over tired and rude and grumpy and DD2 just became a bit unsettled with the constant rushing about and no routine. Glad things are calming down a bit and we can get the girls back into a bit of a routine, well just get them both to bed at a reasonable hour!

Both the girls were very spoilt by the family and also by Santa. They got a cubby house (DD2 wont get much out of it for a while but never mind) and lots of bits and pieces - clothes, books and toys of course! I was prepared this year and made room in the toy room first!

DD1 is still doing well with her night TT'ing. There was a bad week where we thought she just wasnt ready and she chose to wear nappies to bed again for 2 days but we bought some cloth training pants for her to wear to bed and she has improved again. We think she was just getting over tired and a bit lazy. In the last week she has only had 1 accident and has woken me a few times in the night to go to the toilet. We are also taking her to the toilet before we go to bed which is helping her stay dry for longer. We find she only has an accident if she sleeps longer than normal in the morning.

DD2 had her hip review just after Christmas and we got good news! She is down to part time bracing now! Both hips showed improvement (right hip = 1A, left hip = 1B). Ideally the longer she wears the brace the better for her hip development so we are aiming at 16hrs a day in the brace, so overnight and a bit of the morning. She is loving having her legs back and so are we! I actually got to put shorts on her today!! Its been a heatwave in WA the last week so its been too hot to put her in anything other than a nappy and singlet so short this morning was such a novelty! biggrin.gif

Started planning DD1's 4th birthday party yesterday. Sister is helping out which is great s we went and got a few things to day and we are starting to make invites tomorrow. Its going to be super fun! Cant Wait!

Anyway, got to go, DH is putting a show on. Regular tv is rubbish!

Entries in November 2012

Kiddies

Posted by White-Lily, 26/11/2012, 10:32 PM

Just a quick catch up of the kiddies original.gif They are both growing up so quickly!

Shae decided last week that she is a big girl and doesnt wear night nappies anymore!! She had 3 dry nappies in a row and then we decided rather than buy a new bag of nappies to just go without. She has done really well. She had her first accident this morning but had been dry and nappy free for nearly a week overnight. So she has shed the last 'baby' link.

Over the past week she has also become so much more independent with everything. I decided to take a step back from helping her with things and start to enable her more which has worked really well. She is doing many more tasks without assistance which is good. She is going to the toilet completely solo, can almost get her own breakfast (milk pouring needing some help still) but she can get the cereal and butter toast/bread by herself.
She is better at listening to me since I keep telling her she is on my team and team mates have to work together and the reward/star chart is still going well.

We have her orientation for Kindy on Wednesday too!! School seems so close now... blink.gif She is so excited and she is ready to go and learn in the big wide world of school. After orientation is done we have to get cracking on some uniforms and a book list then it will be real. I cant believe she is almost big enough for school... Anyway she will be going 5 days a fortnight (Monday, Thursdays and alternate Wednesdays), half days for the first 3 weeks and then full days after that (840 - 240).

Neve is 15 and a half weeks old!! 3 and a half months already! She tips the scales at about 8kg!! She is huge!! Shae wasnt this big until she was 5mths ohmy.gif

She is doing really well, still obviously stacking on the weight and growing wonderfully but she started sleeping 12hrs most nights as of 12 weeks old original.gif some nights its only 10hrs then up for a quick feed about 6/7ish and back to sleep for a few more hours but Im not complaining at all - its brilliant!! This is exactly what Shae did too. Dad thinks we are spoilt with two great sleepers and I guess we are! Very thankful for it!

She is doing well with her harness and is almost halfway through the first stint! Only 4.5 weeks until she is reviewed.She knows when you undo the straps and she pushes her legs out straight away to have a stretch. She is a bit cheeky with her harness though. She lifts her legs up and out of the leg cradle bits when she is nappy-less sometimes but she has no choice but to put her legs back down when she cant hold them up anymore.

She has started to deliberately whack things and is just starting to grab and hold things for a few seconds. She is smiling heaps and has also just started to laugh a bit more often. I love it! The gummy grins and funny half laughs are adorable!

Gosh I love my kiddies so so much!

Neve's Hips - 12w

Posted by White-Lily, 06/11/2012, 11:20 PM

DD2 got her harness on Friday sad.gif what a was to celebrate being 12 weeks!

No improvement in her left hip since the last u/s - we didnt expect any really as it had only been 3 weeks but it is still disappointing.
The first Dr who checked her said she would probably be ok left and just with follow up scans to monitor but when he checked, the head Dr said to brace now rather than have regrets later. Totally agree, a few months of harness wearing now is much better than surgery later when they realise DD2 cant walk or something. It was just disappointing to think that for 3 minutes we might get away without a brace this time... then the other Dr came in and our hopes were crushed. *sigh*

So 23 hours a day she is in her harness, out only for bath time and a little play/stretch. She will get reviewed just after Christmas (after 8 weeks) so hopefully because her hips are better than DD1 she wont have to wear it much longer than the 8 weeks or at least she will only have to wear it for night or something. Well we are hoping!!

She has settled into wearing it quickly. 4 days, just like Shae soat least that part was predictable. She isnt bothered when we take her out or put her back in and she slept through last night (well nearly 10pm - 530am) so she just needs to stretch it out a tiny bit more to get back to how she was sleeping last week. The first harness night was awful (as expected) - up roughly every 2 hours until 4am then every 10mins with hysterical crying sad.gif So we are very glad she seems to have settled. It is the most awful thing not being able to comfort your child when they scream like she did. But like I said she has settled well. Now we just hope for rapid growth in her hip sockets so they will set her free.

Entries in October 2012

Trapped

Posted by White-Lily, 19/10/2012, 01:41 PM

Im trapped in my house... I hate not having a car...

We cant walk to anything other than a service station where everything is overpriced
The bus only comes 3 times a day into our estate - twice really early in the morning and then once again in the late arvo. We will never be ready to go anywhere that early in the morning and the arvo time is useless because it would take us an hour to get anywhere and then it would be time to turn around and come straight home again.
We cant even call anyone becasue we have awful phone reception here.

Gosh its lonely...

Hopefully only another week or so without my car and then once I pay for it I probably wont be able to afford to drive it anywhere cry1.gif
Argh

Catching Up

Posted by White-Lily, 16/10/2012, 08:43 PM

Well time is getting away from me but hopefully things will slow down a little now that a few events have past!

DD2 is just over 9 weeks old now! I cant believe it! She is doing well, still BFing on demand and she started doing a 7.5 hour sleep at night last week which has moved up to sleeping 9pm to 6.30am the last 2 nights , which Im counting as sleeping thru, then a quick feed and back to sleep until 9ish. Im very pleased with this!! DD1 was doing this by 7 weeks, so DD2 isnt far behind, I thought we would have months of broken sleep as the first baby was the 'good sleeper' but I guess we have gotten lucky a second time!
She is having more awake time (1-1.5hrs a few times a day) and is making the cutest cooing noises and she has giggles once (for DH, he was tickling her belly with his beard). She is giving away many more smiles now too (first smile was at 5.5weeks).

She had her needles last week which was fine and her check up with the CHN.
Stats for 8 weeks -
Weight 6.83kg
Length 59cm
H/C 40.5cm
She is off the charts for weight!! She is so much bigger than DD1 was at this age! The nurse finally confirmed to us that she does have reflux. So we are able to give her gaviscon if we feel she needs it on super chucky days. She is mostly a happy spewer but the washing she creates is insane. On a bad day she will go through all of her clothes and I will go through 3+ tops and then there are the spew towels! sick.gif

Hip ultrasound was also done last week. Her right hip is ok but her left is borderline so wer went back to the Dr and got a referral sent to PMH. Hopefully we will get an appointment sooner rather than later. Best case scenario is they just watch her for a few months and her socket grows by itself. If that doesnt happen then she will go into a brace. Its not a big deal but if we could get away without the brace it would be wonderful!! DD1 was already in her brace by now so I suppose thats a good thing for DD2, she isnt as bad as DD1 was.

As for DD1 she is doing well. She is getting better with the toilet again. She has stopped weeing infront of the toilet now and is only having the occassional accident now instead of it being almost every time. I think she is finally getting used to having her sister around and is acting out less. Her attitude is also improving, she still has the odd day of awfulness but they are getting less and further apart which is wonderful!!
We have enrolled her for Kindy next year and we should have an orrientation day soon which she is looking forward to. She is so ready for school and she is so excited. She tells anyone who listens! Secretly, Im ready for her to go to school too. Some days I just dont know what to do with her. Im sure she finds me boring... I find me boring some days!

I am currently car-less which makes things difficult. We cant go anywhere and there is nothing we can walk to. Hooray for building the house in the middle of no-where! Actually, I lie, we can walk to the Servo... and thats it, super exciting but at least it gets us out of the house for a bit.
So I have no idea what is wrong with my car but it was at the mechanic all of last week and he couldnt fix it so it got towed to Nissan with the hopes they can! Really hoping it doesnt cost too much, should have a quote to fix it tomorrow.

We had my sisters wedding on the weekend so Mum took the girls and I out last week to do last minute wedding things. We rebuilt my sisters wedding flowers as when they arrived they were awful - Sister bought off eBay and didnt do her research very well! Actually she didnt research any wedding stuff very well, including her budget. Mum and Dad ended up hosting the reception at their house and paying for pretty much everything. Mum, Dad, DH and I did lots of the prep work for Sister and BIL but in the end it did turn out to be a lovely day. Everything went really well and the day ran smoothly apart from the rain! Buckets and buckets of rain! DD1 was flower girl and I was a bridesmaid. I made a speech as the maid of honour didnt want to and I am really glad I was able to do that for my sister. My speech took me weeks to write. Its hard to find the right words but I think i found them. Im such an emotional person when it comes to the big stuff. I was in tears before I even got thru my thank you's and by the end everyone was teary/crying. I figured if I was going to cry I needed someone else to cry too. Even Dh was crying. Im so glad i was able to touch so many people that didnt know me with my memories of the first time meeting BIL (it was the day DD1 was born). So the rest of the night went well. Sister and SIL were civil towards each other, BIL's ill parents stayed much longer than we expected which was lovely and many people assisted with the running of the reception from clearing empty bottles, serving food and cleaning up so it wasnt all left for Mum and Dad. My sister has married into a good family and so has BIL actually!!

It was Bretts birthday on the 3rd and its the anniversary of his passing next week. BFF and her DH seem to be doing ok. I spent the day with them both and we chatted and ate choccy all day. I hope it was a healing day for them. I cant believe its been 3 years. sad.gif

Also, I missed writing about this in my last post but I didnt miss the date... It was 12 months since we lost our angel baby on September 22nd. I had a big cry with DD2 about how grateful I am for her and how having her helped me heal. It almost seems like a lifetime ago given DD2 is here but it is still part of me. SIL and Brother lost a bub very recently and I have been talking with SIL about it a lot recently which I hope has helped us both. I just wish no one had to go thru it. She didnt even know she was pregnant as the OGYN (lots of them) had told her she couldnt have kids. Its so awful sad.gif

Anyway, that has pretty much bought me up-to-date.
High School Reunion this weekend blink.gif should be a bit of fun! Cant believe we have been out of High School long enough to have a reunion... laugh.gif

Oh, one last thing, I got my blood test results back for the Cholestasis and my liver is back to normal! Phew!! One less thing to worry about!

Entries in September 2012

6.5 Weeks Old

Posted by White-Lily, 26/09/2012, 05:56 PM

Wow time is going really quickly! My baby is 6 weeks old already!!

DD2 is doing well. She has a bit of a cold atm but otherwise all is good. She seems to be settling into a little bit of a routine of a night time which is great. She has her bath and then bedtime feed around 7.30/8pm and then wont go to bed even thought she is tired so is cuddled to sleep until about 9pm then up for a feed somewhere between 12am and 2am (so we are getting a 4-6 hour break overnight) then up again around 4/5am and then 7/8am. We are pretty pleased with this. She goes back to sleep after all feeds except sometimes the 5am-ish feed, this one is hit and miss but the days when she stays awake are getting further apart now which is great. DH was waking around with her and watching the (very) early news with her everyday for a while there, bless him.
She is getting really good control of her neck and head and has smiled a few times over the last few days. i think I caught one on camera today too which was awesome. Didnt catch DD1's smiles on camera until 8 weeks.

We both had our 6 week check up last week. Im fine, as far as I know! I had a pap smear (yay...) done and my liver blood test and iron studies done so have to get the results next week for them. Hopefully everything is ok and my liver is back to normal. No itching for weeks now so thats a great sign. And everything else has healed properly, not that there was any damage really but all is well with me. Got myself back on the mini-pill so we dont end up with a surprise baby. No mirena this time thats for sure!
DD2 is 5.7kg, 59cm and 39cm head - this puts her on the 97th% for everything!! She is a buddah!! OB did our check up (he is a GP also) and he said he couldnt feel anything in her hips but she was fighting/resisting him - he commented on how strong she is! We got a referral for the u/s on her hips which I booked for the 10th. So we will know next week if she has avoided DDH or not. DH and I both expect her to have DDH to some degree (the family history is just too strong to think otherwise) so we will be very surprised if she gets the all clear next week.

Days are going ok. She doesnt sleep terribly well during the day unless we are out and she is in the capsule and constantly moving about. We dont go out everyday so home days are mostly spent holding her so she will sleep. This will pass, I know it will and she is getting better, well slight improvement from last week!

DD1 has been going through a bit of TT'ing regression. It is incredibly frustrating for everyone. We are going to start a reward chart (as soon as I get one!) to help with the regression and the bad attitude that comes and goes. We have had success with stickers in the last week though so I'm hopeful the chart will work.

We have started to go to a Ngala coffee morning with BFF and her kids (she had DS2 on the 25th August) which has been wonderful for DD1. There are activities set up and swings and slide and they do morning tea for the kids and then songs and stories. DD1 loves it and has warmed well, getting more social each week which is great. She really needed something like this considering she is stuck with mainly just me all the time. We actually went to the Ballet with them this week. Ngala got free tickets to give away to members so we all went along and saw Pinoccio which was fantastic. We had great seats and were surrounded by other parents, carers and kids so it was fine to have DD1 ask questions the whole way through. She was so well behaved and really loved the show. The whole thing reinforces to me that she is a big girl and can handle doing some more things like that. I might take her to the cinema to see a kids movie as a reward if it interests her original.gif

We had our paving done in the backyard which makes a huge difference and DH and Dad are laying roll on grass this weekend. So once that is done the backyard will be 95% done! its going to be amazing. Just being able to sit outside is a novelty at the moment and even though the weather hasnt been great we have BBQ'd a few times original.gif

And lastly sisters wedding is coming up fast. 2.5 weeks to go until the big day and it has just been issue after issue! The main issue being they dont have any money to pay for it so Mum and Dad have stepped in financially (again) and are paying for and hosting the reception for them. So Mum and I have been helping Sister sort out wedding things so it will actually happen.
I got my bridesmaid dress and it is miles too big for me so that is off being altered. Final fitting this Saturday so fingers crossed it is all ok when I get to try it on again!

October is going to be a busy month - Sisters Wedding, Soccer Wind Up (DH got best and fairest - yay) and we have our 10year High school reunion, I cant really believe its been 10 years!!
Then we will be on the downhill slope to Christmas ohmy.gif Gosh I need to start shopping for that before I get too caught up in everything else and life in general!

Entries in August 2012

The birth of bub #2

Posted by White-Lily, 23/08/2012, 12:46 AM

Well nothing happened overnight and I made it to my booked induction much to my disappointment but it went really well.
I hardly slept the night before and broke down in tears numerous times that night and the next morning. My emotions were all over the place. We went out to Nandos for spicy chicken for dinner and to do one last thing as a family of three which was nice. DD was very well behaved that night (she was a horror during the day - Mum took us to the shops so I could get a few final things sorted out)

We dropped DD off at Mum and Dads at 6:45am and went to Maccas for a coffee before arriving at the hospital at 7:30 and getting admitted. We were taken to the birthing suite around 8am where I got some breaky and was put on the CTG for about 45 mins until my OB arrived. While we waited for the the OB I asked the MW what was exactly going to happen which we than discussed again with the OB. I was disappointed to find out I would go on the drip pretty much straight away as we didn't want to be waiting around for hours for something to happen which I assumed might have been the case anyway. I was also disappointed to find out I wasn't allowed in the shower at all even though OB told me a few weeks before that I might have been able to but never mind.

So after all the talking about what was going to happen and me crying (more/again!) and asking to go home and saying I just really didn't want to be there we got things happening.
My waters were broken at 9am with the thimble (DH tells me, I didn't pay much attention) and I commented that I was committed now and wasn't going home - like I really had a choice in the matter! I was 2cm dilated and 50% effaced when my waters were broken and I said at least I wasn't starting from 0! They put all the lines in my arm and took some blood and I was hooked up to the drip and turned on at 930am. I got onto the fit ball after the MW offered it as I didn't want to be on the bed, I just wanted to be doing something so bouncing was it.

During conversation the MW's commented on how busy the ward and birthing suites were and that they had cancelled other inductions and I told them they could have called me to cancel! But not the OC made me a priority. They also commented that they would like a lunch break so we joked around a bit and decided lunch was at 1230 and bub should be born by then so they could have a break. DH and I just laughed it off.

They turned the drip up every 15mins so there was always a MW in the room with us which bothered me at first, I just wanted to be left alone with DH, but it was short lived and soon I didn't care nor really notice. DH and I tried to do the ring test and some other old wives tales/gender predictions but gave up after a few minutes when contractions kept interfering.
The drip got turned up 5 times and was up to 48ml/hour before they stopped it or turned it down (not sure)

I started getting mild BH's once my waters were broken and when the drip got started they started to get a bit more bite. At 10:20 the MW (Julia) asked if I was having regular tightenings/contractions and I just said I wasn't sure if they were regular because I wasn't timing them, I just thought they would look on the trace from the CTG. So it wasn't until then that I was even really paying attention to the contractions. I timed them and they were coming every 2.5mins and lasting for about 60 seconds.

DH was really good and was massaging my neck and shoulders between contractions and during the contractions I was just bouncing on the fit ball. As the contractions got worse I added scratching the sheets on the bed and then counting the bounces (well up to 10, and then starting again) as well as tracing a hole in the bed frame which I was infront of.

After a few more minutes of contractions I started to get really hot. I had some help to get my 3/4 sleeve top off (had to be threaded through all the lines) so I was just in my singlet and bra.
A few more minutes later and I started to feel really sick. I commented that I didn't feel very well and then that I was going to be sick and someone should get me something to throw up in RIGHT NOW! After being sick I was still getting really hot so DH got some wet face washers from the bathroom for my neck and face and one of the MW got me some ice.

DH refreshed the face washers once before I started feeling pressure. I didn't realise what I was feeling but I kept thinking to myself that I couldn't sit down any more.
At this time the MW was getting concerned about the trace. Every time I bounced on the ball the monitor picking up bubs heartbeat would drop out. She was almost certain it was my movement and not anything happening with bub but she was asking how I felt about them putting a clip on bubs head to make sure everything was ok. I just kept thinking about how I couldn't stay sitting down and wasn't really thinking about the clip and just kept saying I didn't care over and over really quietly.
After 3 contractions I shot up and said I cant sit down any more and all talks about the clip were abandoned. The MW asked if I was feeling pressure and I said I think I might be pushing but that I couldn't be because it was too soon. If I had of believed what my body was trying to do bub would have probably been born sooner!

They got me up on the bed and a quick check showed bubs head was right there - 2 pushes later and her head was out and a third push for her body. I was coached very well between pushes and only suffered a few small internal grazes. Bub was put straight up onto my belly and DH cut the cord which was short (just like Shae's) and very thick - we didn't even try for delayed cord clamping this time because of the OC and the extra risk of bleeding. After a few minutes the MW asked what we had - We hadn't even looked!! I unwrapped bubs legs from the towel and checked - a GIRL!!!

The placenta came away after a bit of tugging by the MW and was in good condition and I was left on the drip at a low dose to keep the risk of extra blood loss to a minimum while we had skin to skin contact in the delivery room.

So the stats for our second daughter, Neve Angelina
Born - August 10th at 11:07am - 2hrs and 7minutes after waters broken - drugfree again too which I am stoked about, not that there was time to even consider anything! Contractions only really painful for the last 30-40mins!
Weight - 3780 or 8lb2oz
Length - 53cm
Head - 36cm

I never expected bub to be bigger than Shae. With everything we were told and that we read about the OC I just expected bub to be small.

The OC has cleared up but I will have to have bloods done to make at the 6 week check up but the insane itching has gone as well as all the other symptoms. My hips are all good and I can walk and bend again! It was like an out of body experience getting up off the bed after having her!! My poor rib had room and I could breath again - amazing!! haha. I weighed myself on day 10 and had lost 10 out of the 13kg I put on which I am pretty pleased about. My belly has gone down heaps too and it just looks like I have eaten too much. I am going to get DH to help me out with a toning program after the 6 week mark to help get my core strength back. I would love to be able to pick up my big girl for a cuddle.

We stayed in hospital overnight and discharged on Saturday arvo (30 hours after birth). The ward was so busy and we were in a shared room with another mum and her bub so there wasn't much sleep had by either of us, one baby was always awake it seemed. Neve was really mucousy the first night after feeds which had me worried, she really sounded like she was struggling to breath which was scary! Apparently it was because she missed out on being compressed when being born as she came out too fast!
Neve is a natural feeder and I really felt like everything was going really well (once she was less mucousy!) so decided to come home. We dont qualify for the home visit by the MW so we went back to hospital for the Guthrie test, hearing test and twice to get Neve weighed and me checked up on.

Breastfeeding is going really well. My milk came in night 2/day 3 and I got really engorged! I forgot how much it hurts!! I used the nipple shield on the left for about 4-5 days to get past the engorgement and then weaned off the shield!! Shae was on the shield for 4 months and on both sides too so I really feel so much better about our start to BF'ing this time round. Neve feeds much better than Shae did at the beginning which is making life so much easier! Feeding every 3 hours during the day and 4 hours (roughly) overnight which is great. I'm feeding her right before I go to bed and then only getting up once overnight and then again about 6/7am. So by the time I finish with Neve, Shae is just getting up. Im sure it wont be like this for long but right now its all going smoothly original.gif

Shae had a few funny days where she wasnt too interested in Neve, all the visitors were much more interesting! But now she is smitten with her baby sister and she is very attentive and loving towards her which is so lovely.

So far Neve's hips are ok and no one has heard any clicking but we have an u/s happening when she is 6 weeks to 100% confirm that they are ok.
She also has a bit of jaundice (still at 12 days) and has been a bit slow in the weight gain so the CHN has been keeping an eye on her. She is due to visit us again on Friday for another check up. So we are hoping Neve is back up to her birth weight and is less yellow by then.

DH had all of last week off and is doing half days this week so I have had some solo parent time which has so far gone well. I have taken the girls to the shops a few times by myself now and had no issues. Mind you, all Neve does is feed and then go to sleep! I expect this will change soon enough so I'm making the most of it while it lasts! Shae has been really good and is walking around much more when we are out rather than being lazy and wanting to get in a trolley!

Anywho, Neve is fitting in perfectly at home and has so far been a dream. I'm loving being a mum again and having a new baby in the house. After everything that has happened in the last year it is lovely to have something happy and good to focus on. Life is good right now. I am the happiest I have been in such a long time. And it is a relief to let go of the worry and anxiety.

Gah...

Posted by White-Lily, 09/08/2012, 11:17 PM

Induction tomorrow... unless things happen/start overnight... which they probably wont... cry1.gif

I don't want this but I really feel like I have no choice.
I could quite happily continue on with the pregnancy for another few weeks if they would let me but its not safe to keep bub inside anymore.

Got heaps of questions to ask before they break my waters tomorrow but I'm fairly sure I will be going along with the whole thing anyway. Although there is a small part of me that might change its mind and just go home. But I would only get lectured on the risks and then have to go back on Monday anyway. Getting baby out sooner rather than later is safest now.

I'm scared of everything going wrong and being pushed into more medical methods and then having them not work or bub get distressed and ending up with a c/s and a general and then waking up and having them give me a baby... I will be a wreak if its a boy and not being awake and aware when its born just to help take in that info... I really expect it to be a girl.
But all that said and done, I have given birth before at an earlier gestation than 38 weeks and the start of the labour WAS my waters breaking so I have those odds in my favour. Also most of DD's labour was at the hospital so having it started in hospital wont be a huge deal as I know I can labour there and not need drugs. I just hope they all leave me alone to get on with it (I will request this and I will be making my own time limits as much as I can anyway).

I'm disappointed to be in this position. Half of me feels forced and half of me sees then need for this to happen.
DD's pregnancy, labour and birth were wonderful. Having a second child has been completely opposite, all we have had are problems once conception took place. I just hope the problems are limited to the pregnancy and that tomorrow goes the way I hope it does.

I did find out that all the vomiting and runs I have had is part and parcel of the OC so that just makes me think it is probably getting a bit worse considering how I was on Monday. My feet are itchy again too and my belly (it was confined to my arms for a few days there) so that also makes me think it is possibly getting worse again which just reinforces in everyone's mind it time for bub to come out.

Fingers are still crossed that a miracle happens and bub picks tonight to be born or I turn up tomorrow morning already in labour or something. It could happen shrug.gif Few bitey BH's and heaps of pressure but I did walk around the shops pretty much all day with Mum and DD (who was a right PITA almost ALL day).

Oh well, better go and finalise packing my bag and DD's (sleepover with Mum and Dad tomorrow night) and pop everything in the car. The less I have to think about in the morning the better as far as I'm concerned.

Will be interesting to see how some of the family react when they find out we kept the induction date from them, but that is a story for another time.

Next time I sign on I will be a mum to two oomg2.gif

8 Pages V   1 2 3 > »   
My Blog Links

Last entries

Last Comments

Search My Blog

Essential Baby and Essential Kids is the place to find parenting information and parenting support relating to conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids, maternity, family budgeting, family travel, nutrition and wellbeing, family entertainment, kids entertainment, tips for the family home, child-friendly recipes and parenting. Try our pregnancy due date calculator to determine your due date, or our ovulation calculator to predict ovulation and your fertile period. Our pregnancy week by week guide shows your baby's stages of development. Access our very active mum's discussion groups in the Essential Baby forums or the Essential Kids forums to talk to mums about conception, pregnancy, birth, babies, toddlers, kids and parenting lifestyle. Essential Baby also offers a baby names database of more than 22,000 baby names, popular baby names, boys' names, girls' names and baby names advice in our baby names forum. Essential Kids features a range of free printable worksheets for kids from preschool years through to primary school years. For the latest baby clothes, maternity clothes, maternity accessories, toddler products, kids toys and kids clothing, breastfeeding and other parenting resources, check out Essential Baby and Essential Kids.