experiences with a nanny
what do you think?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 cattyrae

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:28 PM

hi,
im looking at getting a nanny next year instead of my kids going to childcare. i will have 3 in school full time and 2 at home. the 2 at home are going to be 18mth and 3.5yrs.
my hubby is a teacher and i will be going to uni at least 3 days a week. my days are likely to be 8:30-4:30pm.

i guess what im asking is would it be cheaper? would i employ them as a casual as i will have holidays and wont need them while im at home or my hubby is at home? she would need to drop off and pick up my other 3 so that would save my before and after school costs.

also my hubby isnt that comfortable with a nanny only because he is 30 and having a 18yr old scares him. i think its the teacher coming out of him. but how can i make him feel comfortable?

any help would be appreciated original.gif

#2 cat5245

Posted 18 April 2012 - 12:41 PM

I work as a nanny / babysitter and am so surprised by the number of parents who don't ask to see any documentation or references etc.

Maybe to alleviate some of your husband's concerns make a list of what you would like from each nanny you interview e.g. police check, working with children check, first aid certificate, written and verbal references, copies of qualifications etc. I think it's fine and wise to ask for all of these sorts of things. Not all nannies are 18!

I'm usually just employed as a casual but have some sort of informal written agreement e.g. hours per week, pay, etc.

Hope it works out well for you!

#3 cattyrae

Posted 18 April 2012 - 01:04 PM

cat thanks heaps. i have just worked out how many weeks i wont need a nanny in the year. eg school holiday and uni holidays. would that affect pay and work hours etc?
i will make a list thanks again

#4 Lokum

Posted 18 April 2012 - 02:22 PM