not crawling nor attempting by 12 months
Crawling

• Please log in to reply
30 replies to this topic

#1 kalikai

Posted 14 April 2012 - 07:33 PM

Hi all I am a newbie to this site but am a worried mum My 2nd child was born at 34 weeks. He is 11 months (9.5mths corrected) and has only just learnt how to sit. He is still shaky and needs to be supported with cushions. He is showing no signs of crawling nor trying to even get to knees. He does not attempt to pull himself up and can only shuffle slightly backwards in the walker which he has been using for 2 months. He is a huge, heavy strong bubby. Am starting to get concerned. We had lots of flags during the pregnancy which in the end came out clear e.g. 1 in 2 for down syndrome, extra large head...neurological defects......so I have these niggling at the back of my head. My first child was competently walking by 12 months. Am I worrying over nothing? thanks

#2 EsmeLennox

Posted 14 April 2012 - 07:35 PM

I think age for walking varies enormously, but it sounds like you have a range of concerns, I think a visit to the GP and a referral to a paed would be a good idea.

#3 lozoodle

Posted 14 April 2012 - 07:39 PM

Make an appointment to see your MCHN just to discuss your concerns - it will help put your mind at ease, and if they think there is an issue they can refer you to someone original.gif

But seeing as the adjusted age is only 9.5 months, I probably wouldn't worry too much. I'm not sure how the adjusted age thing works, but my first wasn't even rolling until 9 months, didn't crawl til 11 months. And she was born at 40+3, so no adjusted age issues.

Make an appointment just to be sure.

#4 jantastic

Posted 14 April 2012 - 07:42 PM