Catheter and bleeding afterwards
What's the deal?

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Cluckyandhopeful

Posted 18 March 2012 - 10:52 AM

I'm a novice at Caesars so I wanted to ask some really silly questions:

1 - the catheter...so what's the deal, where do they insert it (told you it was a silly question!)
2 - is it uncomfortable to insert? I've heard they normally do this when you're under?
3 - does it hurt when they remove it?
4 - when did you first pee/have a bowel movement etc?

In terms of your bleeding after the birth, was it heavy? I've heard breastfeeding can suppress this but wasn't sure if having a Caesar as opposed to a vaginal birth would make much of a difference?

#2 Excentrique

Posted 18 March 2012 - 11:05 AM

1. catheter goes in the urethral meatus, here's a diagram: http://www.nva.org/images/vulvar_anatomy.jpg
2. they put mine in after the epidural (not a c/sec, this was a normal birth). They do use a numbing cream as well.
3. nope, may have had the epidural still in effect a tiny bit though.
4. wee a good 4 or so hrs later, no.2, about 5/6 days later (shh don't tell the nurses!)

eta- bleeding is very heavy initially afterwards but you won't know much about this. It slows down very quickly though. Its different for everyone regardless of c/sec or vaginal birth.

Edited by Excentrique, 18 March 2012 - 11:07 AM.

#3 oNeLoVe

Posted 18 March 2012 - 01:41 PM