stitches/tearing etc

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 LouChoo

Posted 13 March 2012 - 09:11 PM

Hi

this is my first time on here. My DD is 6 months old and I'm just wondering how you know whether what kind of tear (3rd degree etc) you had?  My OB didn't explainn anything to me, and being my first baby I didn't know to ask.
I was induced and baby delivered by ventouse. I was bruised completely....black everywhere, each time a new midwife came on, it would be 'oh, I;ve heard about your bruising'.  On inspection (as well as I can see anyway) I'm pretty sure I tore all the way to my bum...and haven't contemplated sex yet.
So, am I better to not know, or should I find out? Idon;t know if I could go through what I did again, but with Caesarian only other option, I don;t know what would be better.
thanks for reading.

#2 munchmum

Posted 13 March 2012 - 09:27 PM

It should be on your birth summary you got from the hospital/ob It's your right to ask for this if you don't have it. And It's definitely best to know what happened in my opinion.

#3 Paddlepop

Posted 13 March 2012 - 10:13 PM

I'm very surprised that your OB didn't tell you what type of tearing you had. It should be on your discharge summary from the hospital, or possibly in your Child Health Record book (Red Book in Qld, Blue Book in other states?). If you had a private OB you might be able to ring him/her and find out, and if you were in the public system it might be easiest to get your GP to find out for you. Either way, your GP should be able to find out for you or might already have it in their notes.