Phenergan
Anyone had the wrong reaction ?

• Please log in to reply
56 replies to this topic

#1 Mel1609

Posted 29 November 2009 - 06:56 PM

We're off O/S in 3 weeks, and I'm taking Phenergan with us on the plane, just as a backup if it's needed. I've never used it before as DD is usually a great sleeper.

But both the GP and pharmicist told me to test it first, as it can make them hyper, rather than sleepy. So I wondered, has this actually happened to anyone ? How common is it ?

Thanks.

#2 sandoz

Posted 29 November 2009 - 07:00 PM

It hyped up my little one, she was 17 months I think.  Silly XH let his mother give it to her because she wouldn't sleep at her house! She was pretty hyped up for a few hours.

#3 ~Mousse~

Posted 29 November 2009 - 07:02 PM

I know that my Mother laughs hysterically when someone says to use phenergan to sedate a kid - it hyped my sister and I up incredibly.

Funnily enough it doesn't do that to my kids though...

#4 bridgeta

Posted 29 November 2009 - 07:05 PM

I know my little sister reacts that way.

Mum thought she'd give it to her to keep her calm on a plane trip when she was a baby, it backfired!

#5 6'n'out

Posted 29 November 2009 - 07:06 PM

Am I the only one against drugging kids when there is nothing wrong with them?

#6 Orangedrops

Posted 29 November 2009 - 07:08 PM

5kidsunder7 - no you aren't, I find it really disturbing.

#7 Mel1609

Posted 29 November 2009 - 07:11 PM

So predictable, I knew I would get the judgement comments.

Best to keep it to yourselves really. I didn't ask WDYT.

#8 Indi

Posted 29 November 2009 - 07:11 PM

I'm allergic to it.  Can't remember what reaction I had as it was discovered when I was about 3 and I'm in my 40s now.  Not a common thing to be allergic to but you would hate that to be the case to you child and you discover it on a plane.

#9 lisian

Posted 29 November 2009 - 07:13 PM