Travelling solo - eek!

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 cardamom

Posted 12 September 2019 - 10:34 PM

So, an amazing opportunity has fallen into my lap (#grateful #blessed) and I have the chance to go on a holiday overseas at virtually no cost.

Only downside is I'm a rookie traveller. (Like, I need to renew my passport because it's been 10 years since my first-and-only overseas trip level rookie.)

I'll be travelling on my own. Help me, EB! Tips, tricks, strategies, must-dos?

How does phone/internet work? How does money work? Far out. I don't even know where to start! This is so far outside of my comfort zone I can't even begin to tell you, but I can't wait :D

#2 fascinated

Posted 12 September 2019 - 10:42 PM

Are you going to an English speaking country?

Edited by fascinated, 12 September 2019 - 10:42 PM.

#3 cardamom

Posted 12 September 2019 - 10:47 PM

View Postfascinated, on 12 September 2019 - 10:42 PM, said:

Are you going to an English speaking country?

See, so much of a rookie I didn't even add that info :laugh: I'm going to Israel.

#4 22Fruitmincepies

Posted 13 September 2019 - 01:03 AM

I’d guess that someone you know has family/friends where you are going - you could ask them for some local knowledge - where to eat, easiest ways to get around, and maybe a friendly person to meet for a coffee?

Otherwise - phone depends on how long you are going to be there and how much you will be using it, making calls to back home while out and about, using data, or just texts.

Money - I still haven’t figured that out really. Every way seems to have disadvantages.

#5 IamzFeralz

Posted 13 September 2019 - 06:01 AM

View Postcardamom, on 12 September 2019 - 10:47 PM, said:

See, so much of a rookie I didn't even add that info :laugh: I'm going to Israel.

Book an organised tour?  You’d get to meet people too.

#6 Islander

Posted 13 September 2019 - 06:16 AM