Cloth nappies - total NOOB

• Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#1 moineau

Posted 23 July 2019 - 01:46 PM

Sorry Guys, I know there has been 2 posts on this recently - I have read them and am still VERY CONFUSED.

I would love to know a little bit more about cloth nappies - In as basic terms and I can get.

I don't know ANY of the acronyms or what 'pailing' is and have never even seen a 'flat square' or whatever the best thing for newborns is?

I would love to look into using cloth nappies and be able to make an informed choice for our family, our wallets and of course the environment.

I am interested in hearing about: smells, how often they will need to be washed, how they compare for absorbency and/or chunkiness, how to go about getting others on board with cloth nappies (Nanny might babysit one in a while)

And also I will be returning to work around the 6 month mark - Do day cares work with parents who have chosen cloth nappies, if so how does that work and does it make things more difficult being that I will not be able to wash straight away?

#2 Disydo2018

Posted 23 July 2019 - 02:48 PM

Hi moineau,

As you'll see from the other recent nappy thread, I'm also a complete novice. I can't answer your last few questions as my baby hasn't arrived yet but I thought I could throw in a few things.

First, I really recommend the videos on the nest nappies website. This is a shop in Brisbane that only sells cloth nappies and they have a blog with really helpful videos. They show you the different nappy types and how you put them on (real) babies.

As for acronyms and types, here goes: