c25K running

• Please log in to reply
52 replies to this topic

#1 Caribou

Posted 05 May 2019 - 05:16 PM

So I've been doing C25K on and off for many years but never really got past 4 weeks. Well, just hit 5 weeks and 2 days and freaking out about 8 min run, and then on the day 3 it wants me to run 20 minutes flat? I was just at my limit running for 5 minutes!! and yes, I even dropped my km per hour run to a light jog to make it more sustainable. any slower i will be fast walking. I currently jog at 7-7.5km per hour. walking at 5km per hour. Using the treadmill.

Anyone manage to complete the C25K?

#2 MooGuru

Posted 05 May 2019 - 05:27 PM

I could've written your post a few years back. I absolutely LOVED the first month or so then I think when it upped past 5 minutes I freaked out and stopped.

#3 MissMilla

Posted 05 May 2019 - 05:30 PM

7-7.5 is not so bad for running.
When i started i used to run at 6kmh. Now i walk at 6.5 to warm up on the treadmill.
From 8mins to 20 is quite a big step though, maybe try it in smaller steps of 10-15-20mins?

#4 Caribou

Posted 05 May 2019 - 05:36 PM

when i was doing the short bursts of runs of 90 seconds and 3 minutes I could very easily sustain 8km per hour. but 5mins requires me to be much slower.

I might need to repeatedly do Week 5 and 2 days at the 8 min until I can manage to run without feeling like I will pass out from lack of oxygen after 8 minutes!

Edited by Caribou, 05 May 2019 - 05:41 PM.

#5 Thursday

Posted 05 May 2019 - 05:51 PM

Oh yes, that 20 minutes seemed impossible! I didn't have a treadmill or gym membership so I drove to a town nearby where there is a largish shopping centre with a path all around the outside - flat, busy enough to be safe but not crowded, unlikely to be anyone there I knew. I did loops and stopped back at the car to top up on water at one point.