How many words at 18m , should I ask for a hearing test

• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 InOmniaParatus

Posted 31 March 2019 - 08:41 AM

We have our 18m appointment next week and I am wondering how many words will they look for at this age?
DD can say 8 words. She is very switched on though and understands language well. She will follow basic commands, is constantly pointing and communicating with us.  I would estimate that she easily understands over 100 words but is only saying 8.

She desperately seems to want to talk. For an example, she will come up to me with a book and point something out asking me what it is and when I say it she gets so close to my mouth and watches how my mouth moves when I say the word. She will then attempt to mouth it but doesn't say it. When I ask her what something is she will point it out from her ball to the chair.

I have attempted to test her with her hearing and she seems to hear well. Obviously I am not a professional. The words she does say, she says them clearly.

#2 Caribou

Posted 31 March 2019 - 08:53 AM

It could be just people say it for her so she doesn’t need to. Her number of words for 18months doesn’t seem to be too low, average is 10-20 words by then.

You could do a hearing test just to rule things out, but your GP will probably see same as you if she’s able to hear well with testing from home. They can do a simple test in office, however if she’s responding to sounds there, chances are it’s ok.

She doesn’t sound behind. It could be she’s just on cusp
Of a language explosion soon.

#3 AdelTwins

Posted 31 March 2019 - 09:52 AM

DS3 is 19mo. Sounds within the range of normal to me.

Also, are you counting words that only you will understand? E.g. DS3 can not say either of his brother’s names, but he makes the first sounds of their names and is clearly talking to them when he says (yells) it.