Paramedic?

• Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1 JRA

Posted 11 February 2019 - 08:33 AM

DS is 16, he has a science / maths bent.

He is a life saver at our local surf beach and loves the first aid part of it, continuing to do every first aid thing he can through LSV.

He is now thinking about being a paramedic.  As much as I think paramedics are the most amazing people, I need to be sold on it,... or not. Not that I can or will stop him if that is what he wants.

Please tell me about why he should or shouldn't be a paramedic?

#2 Kafkaesque

Posted 11 February 2019 - 08:50 AM

My husband is a paramedic and I have a degreee in paramedicine but haven’t practiced.  My husband loves his job. Finds if highly rewarding and has been doing it for more than 20 years around the world.

We are in WA and our system works differently to yours but across Australia paramedicine is highly competitive. Here there is a minimum age of 21 to apply to our service so it’s not a straight out of school career. There are far more graduates than jobs. So that’s something to consider seriously. If prepared to move states or countries there are more opportunities. I don’t recommend anyone pursue it as their only career option. I generally recommend doing a dual nursing paramed degreee.

You need the personality type to cope long term. You need to be resilient and able to deal well with stress and pressure. Seeing the worst in people and people at their worst. As well as highly traumatic events you have to be able to deal with doing lots of non urgent and “boring” work.  I believe you also need to be empathetic and very non judgemental to be a halfway decent paramedic. Some I know are absolute twats and their patient suffer for it.

One day I may try and pursue it for myself but as the main carer of our 4 children the both of us doing shift work would be brutal and not something I’m prepared for right now.

#3 Octopodes

Posted 11 February 2019 - 08:58 AM