Exercise guilt

• Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 taby

Posted 27 June 2016 - 12:00 PM

I am currently looking at beginning gym classes or a program and work every second weekend plus often 4 days a week.  I am also studying and have 2 children (10 and 12).

My question is how do you fit in exercises classes without feeling guilty that you've had too much time away from your family?

#2 ~Nasty_Jodama~

Posted 27 June 2016 - 12:04 PM

I dont feel guilty about exercising. I do it so I am happy and healthy and my family benefits from that.

#3 BornToLove

Posted 27 June 2016 - 12:10 PM

It's a mind set thing. You have to have balance in your life, balance means that you have a healthy amount of 'me time'. There is no guilt because it's something I *need* in my life if I want to be the best I can be with everything else (mum, wife, employee, volunteer etc).

Sometimes you have to make it a priority, other times it works into your schedule nicely. But you really need to be of the mindset that taking time for yourself (ie to work out) is nothing to feel guilty over.

#4 MintyBiscuit

Posted 27 June 2016 - 12:19 PM

I'm a better wife and mother when I'm exercising regularly. My mental health improves, my general health improves, my energy levels improve. The time investment for exercise pays off for my entire family, not just me. It did take me a while to realise this and not feel guilty, but once it clicked the guilt just disappeared.

#5 mayahlb

Posted 27 June 2016 - 12:30 PM

What Minty Biscuit said. In saying that I don't actually do that much, pretty much a 5km run 3 days a week and an 8km walk 3 days a week. And then swimming in the warmer months.

Kids might or might not join me (we live on a property and I have a "running" track on the side paddock).

#6 sandy34

Posted 27 June 2016 - 12:30 PM