Public vs private hospital debate
Just some interesting stats on public vs private

• Please log in to reply
113 replies to this topic

#26 Wigglemama

Posted 08 July 2013 - 11:50 PM

QUOTE (lucky 2 @ 09/07/2013, 12:30 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
I know pooks, I live in Melbourne and work in the industry so I know what (or where) you are talking about.
I don't care if women take up private health insurance and use it for maternity care.
But I will defend the quality of public care when I know that it does in fact exist.
And I will speak up if I think that private maternity care is being presented as the only way to get quality care.
I hate zoning and the lack of choice it has brought to women in some areas.
I hope the hospitals that are not meeting the needs of women keep getting complaints and improve.

I think this really needs repeating.

As a midwife, I have worked in both public and private sectors. Both have their pros and cons.

However to state that the reason why women choose private health care is because most public hospitals give poor care( yes someone did state this in this thread when the op stated she had a great experience) is really unfair.

I have worked in three public hospitals and two private hospitals. Tbh, the facilities were "prettier", the equipment newer and the food was better in the private hospitals by a long shot, but the quality of care, in my experience, with the many midwives, ob regs and ob consultants that I know plus the capacity of care the public hospitals could manage compared to private hospitals, was and is head and shoulders above.

I don't care if women want to book into private facilities or choose intervention.

However, it isn't health care that everyone can access. Our public system is strained but it isn't all crap. The option that we have that all women can access can provide and provides as well as it can.

#27 fidodido

Posted 08 July 2013 - 11:51 PM