Starting school advice please

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 AJB3

Posted 17 February 2013 - 08:16 AM

Hi

Sorry this will be long and complicated.

I have two children DS is in Year 1 at a fantastic school (2nd year of school). I am a teacher at a different school. I did not want him attending my fantastic school as he is a bit clingy and needed to gain some independence. Both schools are quite small rural schools.

DD is almost 4. She can attend FYOS next year as cut off is April 30 or the year after when she is 5 turning 6. We always intended to send her when she was 5 turning 6 as she has a slight speech delay and the trend at DS's school is to send them the year they turn 6.

This year, when I am working, she is going to two different family daycarers (I couldn't get the days I wanted at only one carer) and she is going to 3 year old kinder. It seems a lot of different places for one little girl. She seems to be coping ok so far. Also, its a lot of different drop offs for me. We leave home at 7.30am in order for me to get to work by 8.30am.  I work 3 days a week at the moment but it may be increasing to four.  

My sister suggested yesterday that DD could go to school with me next year and repeat Prep the next year at DS's school. I have been thinking alot about it. DD might be on the young side starting school next year but it could be good for her. Also, she may be better suited to my school. She is more independent than DS at the same age. There might not be a need to repeat Prep or to change schools.  She is a pretty easy going girl who copes quite well with new situations and seems to make friends easily.  DS wouldn't be happy that his sister gets to go to my school.

If she doesn't go to school next year she would be attending 4 year old kinder/pre school, three days a week from 9am - 2pm.  Which will be very tricky for me to manage when I'm working.  I guess I could also look at a daycare centre with a kinder program.