Private Health - Q&A

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 mini-us

Posted 08 February 2013 - 11:01 PM

Hi

I got a question re private health cover and what to ask for. I know that I have private health cover. I tried to find out today what I'm actually covered for with them, now that I'm pregnant, but I got a guy and he was not very helpful. All he could tell me was that I don't have any waiting times, whatever that means.

Could you guys give me some points I need to check with them and questions to ask and make sure what I'm covered for?

Also, there was a flyer in the letterbox yesterday abut a community midwife program. Any ideas what they are for?

I'm really sorry, but a) I'm new to being pregnant, and b) I'm not an Australian, so I have no idea how it all works here (I have no clue how it works back home either, but there I have family, whereas here I have no one to ask except you...)

Cheers and thanks

#2 bluedragon

Posted 08 February 2013 - 11:40 PM

I'm in the oct group but saw this come up in recent topics.

You need to ask your private health insurance company if your policy covers maternity. If it does and you have no waiting periods then you would be covered for the hospital fees at a private hospital. You will still have out of pocket for the OB, will be a few thousand but depends on the specific OB.

The midwife programme is probably run through your local public hospital, it may be for a birth centre but couldn't be 100% about that without seeing the flyer.

HTH

#3 Wildence

Posted 09 February 2013 - 12:11 AM

Unfortunately they don't cover you for much, only benefit is may be getting a private room (is covered by the health fund), but you will need to pay for  pretty much everything else.

I don't know whether community program is the same program as Midwifery group practice, and if it is, i would highly recommend going for midwifery program (if run by the hospital near you)

Good luck!

#4 EsmeLennox