Lifetime cost of a dog

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 tenar

Posted 04 February 2013 - 09:37 PM

What has your dog cost you through it's lifetime?

I was talking with my mum earlier and she was trying to dissuade me from planning another dog when my old girl dies, as they are just getting so expensive to keep. We are both dog lovers and I have never imagined not having a dog. But the conversation has gotten me thinking, as it is definitely true that we have spent a fortune on this dog in recent years.

I estimate the following costs:

Purebred puppy (from a wonderful breeder): $850 (14 years ago, would be more now)
Setup equipment: $400 (I was a student, would be more now)
Dog school for about 6 months: $300. (Don't remover the cost, guessing here)
Desexing: 300

Food: prob an average of $10/week over 14 years. More in recent years as her needs got more complicated due to poor health.  

Vet: $200/year for vaccinations and checkup
       $600 in accident/illness care for first few years (minor stuff
       $1500/ year for last several years. I'm guessing this, as it has been lots of smaller things due to an ongoing health problem, common in the breed, that has all sorts of knock on effects.  I do know its been thousands and thousands, including major surgery and heaps of blood tests.

Transport overseas and back, quarantine. Prob a total cost of $4000.  I lived overseas for 3 years, had to take her.

So, assuming I haven't forgotten anything major (I do all grooming, she has never been in a kennel except for quarantine), that comes to:

First year: $2550
Ages 1 to 5: $900/ year approx, 3600 for the 4 years
Ages 6 to 14: $2700/year approx, 17600 for 8 years

Total of around $27750 for her life so far (14 years).
This is for a small dog (mini schnauzer) with a common health problem (canine hyperlipidemia).

What do you think your dog costs you?

#2 Jellyblush

Posted 04 February 2013 - 09:52 PM