Man convicted of common assault
threw a wet wipe

• Please log in to reply
33 replies to this topic

#1 bakesgirls

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:20 PM

http://www.goldcoast.com.au/article/2013/0...court-news.html

I must admit I was pleased to read of this. As a nurse, I'm all too used to being treated like crap when I am trying to do my job. Last time I was assaulted, I was 22 weeks pregnant and was punched in the face by a patient who was annoyed that I didn't answer his buzzer the second he pressed it, due to the fact that I was with another patient.

#2 CupOfCoffee

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:29 PM

I agree with what the nurse said in the article... there needs to be zero tolerance on violence and abuse towards our health care professionals.  (Zero tolerance to anyone, but it seems that it happens daily in our hospitals).

#3 BetteBoop

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:29 PM

It seems his general threatening behaviour might have had something to do with the ruling but that doesn't sell papers so "convicted for throwing a wet wipe" is the headline.

And I agree with it. There should be zero tolerance for violence directed at health professionals and police.

#4 9ferals

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:33 PM

I was prepared to say that's a bit extreme, but it looks as though he was verbally abusive, aggressive and had lost control to the extent where he "forgot" that he even threw anything.
And he "admitted he raised his voice and gave her a firm "dressing down" about her attitude"

Good. I'm glad that people aren't allowed to get away with being aggressive and abusive in public and especially in a place where they are going for assistance.

#5 smc81

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:42 PM