Moving interstate mid-pregnancy: How do I organise an OB?

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 kindheart

Posted 21 January 2013 - 09:34 PM

Hello! I'm new to EB and am six weeks pregnant. I currently live in Adelaide but it looks like my partner & I are being moved to Melbourne for work in the middle of the year. My first doctors appointment is this week and I have a question about OB, hospitals and moving states.

I am very keen to deliver at Cabrini as it seems to be a great hospital and it is also close to my parents house.

Obviously I will have quite a few appointments with my Adelaide OB before we move. How does one go about transferring and finding a new OB towards the end of pregnancy? Would I be better off spending lots of money flying over for each appointment (this is not ideal)?

I'm sure someone has done this before so knows all the tricks. Thank you for your help!

#2 epl0822

Posted 21 January 2013 - 09:49 PM

I would probably book with an OB in Melbourne right now to deliver the baby later on and stay with a public hospital in Adelaide, simply to avoid being charged twice for the pregnancy management fee. Good OBs might book out quickly in Melbourne and you might not get the choice of the one you want. I wouldn't bother with flying over for each appointment - it seems like such a huge amount of time and money and not worth the hassle.

#3 Marty McFly

Posted 21 January 2013 - 09:56 PM

I moved here from overseas at 7 months pregnant. I organized an OB in advance, and brought all my medical records fromy my home country. We were still charged the entire fee as if I was visiting the OB the whole time, and they had me re-do a bunch of tests that I already took.
It's a pain,, as PP said, stay in public to avoid the fee twice. Or else start public and end up in private.

#4 Fossy

Posted 21 January 2013 - 09:58 PM