CQU External Nursing & Baby
Study while having a baby?

• Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 cp86

Posted 10 January 2013 - 01:44 PM

Hi All,

I am a newbie to essential baby so pardon my ignorance if i havent yet found my way around the forums correctly!

I got married a few months ago and my husband & I really want to start a family. The only thing is, i really want to do my Bachelor of Nursing as well! We have stopped TTC for the time being until we sort a few things out.

I have a few questions for you all;

1. How did you manage study and parenthood?

2. I am planning on studying nursing externally whilst working part time. Has anyone else done this? or done this whilst pregnant?

3. Having never been pregnant before or had a baby im worried how to manage uni study with a newborn. SHould i decrease my study load or take the whole semester off? Will i be able to manage?

Ultimately i want to finish the degree asap to get back into the workforce and start earning good money again.

Are there any study routes that I have overlooked? Such as a combination of TAFE (EEN) & then Uni masters?

Any advice is warmly welcomed!

Thanks!

CP

#2 Exhaustedbuthappy

Posted 10 January 2013 - 02:24 PM

where are you located?

Is there a reason you specifically want to do it externally?

#3 ~MakkaPakka~

Posted 10 January 2013 - 02:45 PM

Hi original.gif

I am doing  the same course (external as well)

I started the course in 2010 (so this will be my fourth year) and I only have four units to go.

When I started the course I had a five month old baby and I recently gave birth in November.  You can work around the pregnancies and births ect, I ended up pulling out of my subject (was clinical placement based) due to complications with pregnancy and I will start back in term three this year.  I was going to start back term two but the subjects I need to do are term 1 and 3.