Stupid Question
about glasses

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Expelliarmus

Posted 02 January 2013 - 12:58 PM

I have been wearing glasses for 34 years. Thus I feel ridiculous asking this question, however I was never a klutzy small boy ...

Any tips, hints, or other general information about how to help a 9yo boy who has been and will remain gangly and awkward and completely uncoordinated for years, with caring for his glasses?

I don't care if my kids have to wear glasses, DD1 wears them, I just wanted to cry because he's the one kid I have who couldn't take care of them sad.gif He chose a cool Star Wars pair and we pick them up in about 2.5 weeks. But how do I make sure they don't get broken?!?!?!?!

#2 livvie7586

Posted 02 January 2013 - 01:05 PM

what does he need them for?  i'm short sighted, and therefore have my glasses on from the moment i get out of bed until the moment i go to bed (only take them off to shower), so there isn't a huge chance for them to get broken (as long as they fit well, i have had glasses get scratched as they were loose and fell off).

Long sighted-train him to put them straight in a case when taken off (and have more then 1 case).

And if for some reason he takes a tumble when wearing them and they break, there really isn't much that was going to save them anyway

#3 Expelliarmus

Posted 02 January 2013 - 01:09 PM

Short sighted. I will pick up an extra case, thanks. I don't use them nor does DD1, but I think having them in a case will help DS!

*crosses her fingers against taking tumbles* ...

#4 morgansacre

Posted 02 January 2013 - 01:10 PM

For my DS and my other two DDs I chose the ones that the arms bend backwards....these take a lot to break. I never in fact had to replace them except for new lenses.

Lynn

#5 livvie7586

Posted 02 January 2013 - 01:13 PM

QUOTE (howdo @ 02/01/2013, 02:09 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>