1 year old Walking

• Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 LC1983

Posted 22 December 2012 - 01:18 PM

Hi all, while I'm just new to EB I have found these forums most helpful. I thought I would post here and see what you had to suggest for me. My daughter has just gone one and while I know it isn't a concern that she is not walking I thought I would get your opinions. A brief rundown; DD was diagnosed with hip dyplasia at 4 days old. She was put in a brace until 3 months old and at her last check up a month ago, her hips were fine. The physio at the RCH did say however that she thought DD was 'overly flexible'/ double jointed. Which I had an idea she was because some of the positions she can get into are unbelievable haha. DD can stand holding onto the couch and cruise albeit for not very long. It's like she doesn't have the strength in her ankles and legs. DD is very petite, not even 8 kgs yet (which we're working on). I have read through a few posts about people seeing physios for their children who have low muscle mass etc. I have spoken to the MCHN and our GP and they don't think it's an issue 'yet'. My concern is that we will get 6 months down the track and then they will want to do something about it and tell me we should have done something earlier. Can anyone suggest exercises we can do with DD to maybe help strengthen her legs or should I see someone else that may he able to help. Or am I being a silly first time mum whoIs worrying about nothing?!
😃

#2 IsolaBella

Posted 22 December 2012 - 01:31 PM

http://www.who.int/childgrowth/standards/m...tiles_table.pdf

50% of children are walking at 12m but that also means50% are NOT walking at 12m

My kids were 16.5, 17.5 and 19.5 when they walked.

The DSs were cruising from 9m but walked 16.5 and 19.5m. DD was 12m when she started cruising and walked 17.5m

If your child is cruising I would not stress too much.

#3 mummy.to.one

Posted 22 December 2012 - 01:58 PM